Parents could foot the bill when their children take drivers education in public schools if the state Senates proposed budget gains traction in upcoming negotiations.
Connie Sessoms oversees drivers education for Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools. He said families could pay the full cost if the Senate budget proposal passes. Currently, schools in North Carolina can charge up to $55 for the program but no more.
In 2013, drivers education cost about $335 per Charlotte-Mecklenburg student completing classroom instruction, according to a report given to a legislative oversight committee. The report did not give the cost of behind-the-wheel training.
About $3.28 million in local and state funds was spent for drivers education including in-class and behind-the-wheel training in the county, according to the same report.
Chuck Lehning, who directs the Jordan Driving School in Charlotte, said other state money or local supplements could lessen the cost for families. The Jordan Driving school is an arm of the CMS drivers education program and provides professional teachers for the school system.
But parents need to have an idea that this funding could go away, he said. It would cost them a whole lot more than it does right now.
The Senates proposed budget makes the $26 million for driver education a nonrecurring expense. This means that the state would have to approve the funding every year. Sessoms said the change would make funding more vulnerable to future cuts.
The budget would also cut $28 million from the Department of Public Instruction, including some funding for school buses. Officials then could use money previously slotted for driver education to make up the difference.
The Houses proposed budget does not change drivers education funding. The legislature has begun negotiations between the two proposals, but leaders in Raleigh do not expect a final budget this week.
The states graduated licensing program requires 30 hours of classroom training and 12 hours of behind-the-wheel training with an instructor before students can get a learners permit. Then, after 60 hours of driving with a parent, students can test for a license when they turn 16.
Or they can wait until they are 18 and test for their license without taking classes or logging hours.
Sessoms said taking away state funds for the drivers education program would undermine the graduated licensing program. He said some of the 120,000 students who go through the graduated licensing program each year would choose to bypass the classes to avoid paying.
Sessoms said they would wait until they are 18 years old, which would mean drivers with less training on the road.
Angel Harp, whose daughter is in a drivers education class this summer, said having another driver will make life easier for the busy family. She said a higher price tag wouldnt be a deal-breaker for her family, but it could be for others.
Im sure its going to a big issue for some families, Harp said. Ive been there, where I couldnt have afforded it.
Since North Carolina launched the graduated licensing program in 1997, fatalities have decreased about 33 percent per 100 miles driven, according to statistics from the state Department of Transportation. The report said drivers education was a reason for the decline, as were other factors, such as the law banning texting while driving.
Sessoms said taking away funding for driver education would cause the crash and fatality rate in the state to increase. If I had to sum it up in one word, it would be devastating, he said.
Williams: 704-358-5294; Twitter: @byclairew
The Charlotte Observer welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views.
Have a news tip? You can send it to a local news editor; email firstname.lastname@example.org to send us your tip - or - consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Charlotte Observer.Read moreRead less