Moms Columns & Blogs

January 30, 2013

And the winner is....reading

Check out this year's Caldecott and Newbery Medal winners and get your children reading today.

It may be Oscar season in Hollywood, but in the world of literature the winners are books! The Caldecott Medal is awarded each year to an outstanding picture book, while the Newbery Medal is given to the most distinguished book in children's literature. These books are always a hit with kids of all ages and are sure to be great additions to any reading list.

This year's Caldecott winner is
This Is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen.

Honor books in this category include:
Creepy Carrots!written by Aaron Reynolds and illustrated by Peter Brown
Extra Yarn, written by Marc Barnett and illustrated by Jon Klassen
Green by Laura Vaccaro Seeger

One Cool Friend by Toni Buzzeo and illustrated by David Small
Sleep Like a Tiger written by Mary Logue and illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski

This year's Newbery winner is The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate.

Honor books in this category include:

Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz
Bomb: The Race to Build - and Steal - the World's Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin
Three Times Lucky by Shelia Turnage

Related content



Entertainment Videos