15 CMS schools win national magnet awards

03/06/2014 12:37 PM

03/06/2014 12:38 PM

Fifteen Charlotte-Mecklenburg magnet schools have won awards from a national organization of magnet and theme-based schools.

The Magnet Schools of America said seven area schools were named Schools of Excellence, the highest honor, and eight more were selected as Schools of Distinction.

More than 300 schools applied for the annual awards, according to Magnet Schools of America. School of Excellence winners also receive $2,500 prizes.

The Schools of Excellence were Albemarle Road Middle, Blythe Elementary, Collinswood Language Academy, Cotswold Elementary, Huntingtowne Farms Elementary, Irwin Academic Center and Oaklawn Language Academy.

The Schools of Distinction were East Mecklenburg High, J.M. Alexander Middle, Myers Park Traditional Elementary, Northwest School of the Arts, Piedmont Middle, Randolph Middle, Shamrock Gardens Elementary and Waddell Language Academy.

The awards will be presented at the Magnet Schools of America conference in May at Hartford, Conn.

“As a district, we want to provide a personalized education for every student – and our magnet schools and themed programs are one of the ways we do that,” CMS Superintendent Heath Morrison said. “We are very proud to have so many of our themed and magnet schools recognized this year.

“It is a tribute to the terrific work being done in these schools by our principals, teachers and school support staff.”

CMS’ awards were second-highest in North Carolina. The Wake County Schools had 10 Schools of Excellence and 12 Schools of Distinction.

Editor's Choice Videos

Join the Discussion

Charlotte Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service