Charlotte-area high school students win National Merit corporate awards

04/24/2014 2:16 PM

04/24/2014 3:02 PM

Five students from Mecklenburg County and one from York County, S.C., have been named winners of National Merit Scholarship corporate-sponsored scholarships.

The winners are among about 1,000 high school seniors nationwide to win scholarships sponsored by 200 corporations, company foundations and other business organizations. The awards are worth from $500 to $10,000 a year, although some provide a single payment.

These are the first of the National Merit Scholarship winners to be announced this spring, according to the Illinois-based organization.

This year’s local winners and the scholarship sponsors:

Manas Agrawal, Ardrey Kell High, Accenture; Matthew Bacon, Providence Day, LPL Financial; Meagan Bell, Fort Mill (S.C.) High, Boeing; Alexandra Seelig, Charlotte Christian, PWC Charitable Foundation; Andrew Sun, Myers Park High, Novartis Group; Siqiao Wang, South Mecklenburg High, R.R. Donnelley Foundation.

Editor's Choice Videos

Join the Discussion

Charlotte Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service