CMS opens public vote on 2015-16 calendar

05/02/2014 7:37 AM

05/02/2014 8:06 AM

The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools have opened public voting on a calendar for the 2015-16 academic year.

There are two options – one with a lengthy break at Christmas and at Easter, and the other with shorter Christmas and Easter breaks but a mid-April vacation that the first option doesn’t have.

The online vote will end at 11:50 p.m. May 8, according to CMS officials. The school board will vote later this month, after Superintendent Heath Morrison provides his recommendation.

Two options – designed by a panel of teachers, students, administrators, parents and community members – have been presented.

As is always the case, the calendars must adhere to state regulations. Those include 215 total days, with 185 instructional days (or 1,025 instructional hours) and 10 annual leave days. School may start no earlier than the Monday closest to Aug. 26 and end no later than the Friday closest to June 11.

The first option, Plan A, features a full two-week break around the Christmas and New Years holidays, and a 10-day break at Easter, which falls on March 27 in 2016.

Plan B has a shorter break at Christmas (12 days) and only four days at Easter, but it features a 10-day spring break in mid-April that Plan A does not have.

You can vote here. You can find the options here.

These are highlights of the two options:

First day: Monday, Aug. 24 (in both options)

Labor Day holiday: Monday, Sept. 7 (both options)

September teacher workday: Wednesday, Sept. 23 (both options).

October teacher workday: Friday, Oct. 23 (Plan A); Friday, Oct. 30 (Plan B).

Veterans Day holiday: Wednesday, Nov. 11 (both options).

Thanksgiving break: Wednesday, Nov. 25-Sunday, Nov. 29 (both options).

Christmas break: Saturday, Dec. 19-Sunday, Jan. 3 (Plan A); Wednesday, Dec. 23-Sunday, Jan. 3 (Plan B).

Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday break: Saturday, Jan. 16-Monday, Jan. 18 (Plan A); Saturday, Jan. 16-Tuesday, Jan. 19 (Plan B).

Late-January teacher workday: Monday, Jan. 25 (Plan A only).

Presidents Day Holiday break: Saturday, Feb. 13-Monday, Feb. 15 (Plan A); Saturday, Feb. 13-Tuesday, Feb. 16 (Plan B).

Easter break: Friday, March 25-Sunday, April 3 (Plan A); Friday, March 25-Monday, March 28 (Plan B).

Spring break: None in Plan A; Saturday, April 9-Monday, April 18 (Plan B).

Late-April teacher workday: Monday, April 25 (Plan A); none in Plan B.

Memorial Day holiday break: Friday, May 27-Monday, May 30 (both plans).

Last day of school: Thursday, June 9.

Editor's Choice Videos

Join the Discussion

Charlotte Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service