NASCAR Sprint Cup: 400 schedule, TV times

07/31/2014 8:19 PM

08/01/2014 1:10 AM

This week’s race 400

What: 160 laps (400 miles)

Where: Pocono Raceway, a 2.5-mile flat, paved trianuglar-shaped track in Long Pond, Pa.

When: 1 p.m. Sunday


Radio: Motor Racing Network

Last year’s winner: Kasey Kahne

Also this week: Pocono Mountains 150, Camping World Truck Series, Pocono Raceway, 1 p.m. Saturday, Fox Sports 1.

• U.S. Cellular 250, Nationwide Series, Iowa Speedway, 8 p.m. Saturday, ESPN.

Worth mentioning: Jeff Gordon continues to lead the Sprint Cup Series points standings and holds a 24-point advantage over Dale Earnhardt Jr. Brad Keselowski is third, Matt Kenseth fourth and Jimmie Johnson fifth.

Who’s Hot/Who’s Not


Jeff Gordon: Five-time Brickyard winner. Will he be a five-time championship winner?

Kyle Busch: His run of second-place finishes may not be his preference, but that type of consistency is what wins championships.

Joe Gibbs Racing: As a whole, the organization appears to be headed in the right direction to competing regularly with Hendrick Motorsports and Team Penske.

Kevin Harvick: Leads the Cup series with four poles – and has 10 in his entire career.

Ty Dillon: Is there a better place to earn a first series victory than the Brickyard?

Darrell Wallace Jr.: He’s amassing quite the impressive driver resume, picking up a win on dirt at Eldora Speedway.


Jimmie Johnson: Curiously not a factor in Sunday’s race at Indy.

Tony Stewart: Please see Jimmie Johnson.

Kasey Kahne: Could he have a more frustrating season?

Jim Utter

Racing Video

Get Adobe Flash player

Join the Discussion

Charlotte Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service