Save Money in this Sunday's paper

Many eyes are on Hagan-Tillis fight for Senate seat

In one of the country's closest-watched Senate races, Democrat and first-term Senator Kay Hagan is fighting for re-election against Republican N.C. House Speaker Thom Tillis and Libertarian Sean Haugh.

• Kay Hagan, D: E-mail | Web site
Hagan touts work on legislation that makes sense for NC
• Sean Haugh, L: Web site
• Thom Tillis, R: E-mail | Web site
Tillis’ drive steers NC legislature to the right

More recent U.S. Senate news

U.S. House of Representatives

US House 8
Antonio Blue, D: E-mail
Richard Hudson, R: E-mail | Web Site

US House 9
Robert Pittenger, R: Contact | Web Site
Shawn Eckles , write-in: E-mail | Web Site

US House 10
Tate MacQueen, D: E-mail | Web Site
Patrick McHenry, R: Contact | Web Site

US House 12
Alma Adams, D: E-mail | Web Site
Vince Coakley, R: E-mail | Web Site

N.C. General Assembly

Seats in the state legislature also are up for grabs this year.

NC State Senate District 38
Joel Ford, D: E-mail | Web Site
Richard Rivette, R: E-mail
Richard Rivette-Joel Ford rematch set

NC State Senate District 39
Robert (Bob) Rucho, R: E-mail | Web Site

NC State Senate District 40
Joyce Waddell, D: E-mail

NC State Senate District 41
Latrice McRae, D: E-mail | Web Site
Jeff Tarte, R: Email: E-mail | Web Site
Tarte seeks to retain Senate seat against Democratic challenger McRae

NC House of Representatives District 88
Margie Storch, D: E-mail | Web Site
Rob Bryan, R : E-mail | Web Site

NC House of Representatives District 92
Robin Bradford, D: E-mail | Web Site
Charles Jeter, R: E-mail | Web Site
Bradford again takes on Jeter in House District 92

NC House of Representatives District 98
Natasha Marcus, D: E-mail | Web Site
John R. Bradford III, R: E-mail | Web Site

NC House of Representatives District 99
Rodney W. Moore, D: E-mail | Web Site

NC House of Representatives District 100
Tricia Cotham, D: E-mail | Web Site

NC House of Representatives District 101
Beverly Miller Earle, D: E-mail

NC House of Representatives District 102
Becky Carney, D: E-mail

NC House of Representatives District 103
Bill Brawley, R: E-mail | Web Site

NC House of Representatives District 104
Dan Bishop, R: E-mail | Web Site
Eric Cable, L: E-mail | Web Site

NC House of Representatives District 105
Jacqueline Schaffer, R: E-mail | Web Site

NC House of Representatives District 106
Carla Cunningham, D: E-mail | Web Site
Trey Lowe, R: E-mail | Web Site

NC House of Representatives District 107
Kelly Alexander, D: E-mail | Web Site

My colleague Franco Ordonez reports that Republican U.S. Senate candidate Thom Tillis is the targ...

Campaign Tracker

Questions? Suggestions?

We're trying to make this page as helpful as possible for voters. Is there information you think we should add? Send any questions or suggestions you have about this page to April Bethea

Candidate questionnaires

The Observer has solicited campaign statements and bios for candidates running on the Nov. 4 ballot for offices in Mecklenburg County, the state and the U.S. House. Read their responses by clicking here.



Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners

At-large seats

Five candidates are running for three seats the board of county commission.

• Scott Carlisle, R: E-mail | Web site
• Pat Cotham, D: E-mail | Web site
• Trevor Fuller, D: E-mail | Web site
• Ella Scarborough, D: E-mail
• Emily Zuyus, R: E-mail | Web site

District seats

District 1
• Leonard Richardson, D: E-mail | Web site
• Jim Puckett, R
Puckett seeks to retake commissioner’s seat

District 2
• Vilma Leake, D

District 3
• George Dunlap, D: E-mail | Web site

District 4
• Dumont Clarke, D: E-mail

District 5
• Art Cardenas, D: E-mail | Web site
• Matthew Ridenhour, R: E-mail | Web site
Ridenhour, Cardenas square off for District 5

District 6
• Bill James, R: E-mail | Web site


Sales tax hike
Voters are asked to consider raising the Mecklenburg County sales tax by a quarter-cent primarily to raise teacher pay, but also to increase pay for faculty at Central Piedmont Community College and help programs at the Arts & Science Council and Charlotte Mecklenburg Library.

Judge or jury?
If approved, the proposed constitutional amendment would allow people charged with a felony to decide whether they want a judge or a jury to hear their case. The proposal would allow “a person accused of any criminal offense for which the state is not seeking a sentence of death in superior court may ...waive the person’s right to a trial by jury.”

City bonds
In 2013, the City Council approved an ambitious $816 million capital improvement plan, which will build roads, sidewalks, bridges, affordable housing, and police and fire stations through 2020. Voters are asked to consider the first bond package on the ballot, $110.97 million for roads; $20 million for neighborhood improvements; and $15 million for housing.


Mecklenburg County Sheriff

The winner will replace Chipp Bailey, who did not seek re-election.

• Irwin Carmichael, D: E-mail | Web site
• Chris Hailey, R: E-mail | Web site

NC Supreme Court Chief Justice

• Mark Martin
• Ola M. Lewis

NC Supreme Court Associated Justice

Three races:
1) • Bob Hunter • Sam J. Ervin IV

2) • Eric Levinson • Robin Hudson

3) • Mike Robinson • Cheri Beasley

NC Court of Appeals Judge

(Four races)

1) Note: This race features 19 candidates for one seat

• John S. Arrowood                • Hunter Murphy
• Betsy Bunting                      • Marty Martin
• Jeffrey M. Cook                    • Jody Newsome
• Lori G. Christian                  • Tricia Shields
• J. Brad Donovan                 • Elizabeth Davenport Scott
• Daniel Patrick Donahue             • John M. Tyson
• Sabra Jean Faires              • Chuck Winfree
• Abe Jones                            • Marion Warren
• Ann Kirby                            • Valerie Johnson Zachary
• Keischa Lovelace

2) • Bill Southern                  • Lucy Inman

3) • Donna Stroud

4) • Paul Holcombe                  • Mark Davis

Mecklenburg County Clerk of Superior Court

• Elisa Chinn Gary, D: E-mail | Web site
• Martha Efird, R: E-mail | Web site


Elections across the Charlotte region

Other area communities are holding elections this year

Here are phone numbers and websites for local boards of elections

Alexander County: 828‑632‑2990    Website

Burke County: 828‑433‑1703    Website

Cabarrus County: 704‑920‑2860    Website

Caldwell County: 828‑757‑1326    Website

Catawba County: 828-464-2424    Website

Cleveland County: 704‑484‑4858    Website

Gaston County: 704-852-6005    Website

Iredell County: 704-878-3140     Website

Lincoln County: 704-736-8480    Website

Rowan County: 704-216-8140    Website

Union County: 704-283-3809    Website
12 running for Union County Board of Education seats
Oct. 21 election forum set for Union races

Send any questions or suggestions you have about this page to April Bethea