Mayor Jennifer Roberts removes Fallon, Kinsey from city committee posts

Charlotte City Council member Claire Fallon
Charlotte City Council member Claire Fallon dtfoster@charlotteobserver.com

Charlotte Mayor Jennifer Roberts has removed two incumbent council members from their positions leading two city committees.

At-large member Claire Fallon had been chair of the city’s community safety committee, which oversees the police and fire departments. That position was given to newly elected at-large member Julie Eiselt.

District 1 member Patsy Kinsey, a former mayor, had chaired the housing and neighborhood development committee. That job was given to LaWana Mayfield.

Kinsey has had a long working relationship with former mayor Dan Clodfelter, who lost to Roberts in an October Democratic primary run-off.

Kinsey said she is disappointed she was removed as chair.

“Of course I would have liked to have stayed (as chair),” she said. “I’m plugged into affordable housing concerns.”

Fallon supported Clodfelter. She said she was upset about being removed as chair.

At-large member James Mitchell was given the chair of the economic development committee, which is considered a plum position. Former council member Michael Barnes chaired that committee for the last two years.

Many other committee chairs remained the same. Greg Phipps will remain chair of the budget committee; John Autry is head of the environment committee; and Vi Lyles heads transportation.

Transportation is considered an important position, in part because the committee chair is the city’s vote on the Charlotte Regional Transportation Planning Organization. CRTPO makes key decisions on transportation funding, including the toll lanes planned for Interstates 77 and 485, and highway U.S. 74.

The council’s two Republicans were also given chairs, though of less high-profile committees.

Kenny Smith will chair the governance and accountability committee and Ed Driggs will chair intergovernmental affairs.

Steve Harrison: 704-358-5160, @Sharrison_Obs