Area closings, cancellations

Here are closings and cancellations across the Charlotte region on Thursday:

K-12 schools

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools

Alexander County

Alleghany County

Anson County (also closed Friday)

Aristotle Prep

Back Creek Christian

Burke County

Cabarrus Charter

Cabarrus County

Caldwell County

Cannon School

Carolina International School

Central Academy - Lake Park

Charlotte Choice Charter

Charlotte Christian

Charlotte Country Day

Charlotte Jewish Day School

Charlotte Latin

Charlotte Preparatory School

Charlotte Secondary School

Chester County (S.C.)

Chesterfield County (S.C.)

Cleveland County

Clover (S.C.)

Community Charter

Concordia Lutheran

Covenant Day

Cramerton Christian

Davidson Day

Fletcher School

Fort Mill (S.C.)

Gaston Christian

Gaston County

Gaston Day

Heritage Christian - Hudson

Hickory Christian

Hickory City


Kannapolis City

Kennedy Charter

KIPP Charlotte

Lake Norman Charter

Lancaster (S.C.) County

Lenoir Christian

Lincoln Charter

Lincoln County

McDowell County

Metrolina Christian

Montgomery County

Mooresville Graded

Morganton Day

Mountain Island Charter


Piedmont CommunityCharter

Providence Day

Queens Grant Charter

Rock Hill

Rockwell Christian


Rutherford County

Socrates Academy

St. Anne School (Rock Hill)

Stanly County

Sugar Creek Charter

Union Academy

Union County (N.C.)

United Christian Academy

United Faith Christian

Victory Christian

Watauga County

Weddington Christian

Wilkes County

York (S.C.)

Colleges, universities


UNC Charlotte

Appalachian State

Brookstone College

Caldwell Community-Watauga

Catawba College

Charlotte School of Law

Gardner-Webb University

Gaston College

Johnson C. Smith

ITT Tech

Kings College



Mayland Community

McDowell Tech

Mitchell Community

Montgomery Community

Montreat College-Charlotte

Pfeiffer University (main campus and Charlotte)

Queens Univ. of Charlotte

Richmond Community

Rowan-Cabarrus Community

South Piedmont Community

Southeastern Institute

Stanly Community

Western Piedmont Community

Wingate University

Winthrop University

Government, courts, others

Alexander County transit

Alexander County YMCA

Burke County transit

Cabarrus County courts

Cabarrus County government

Cabarrus County parks

Caldwell County government

Caldwell County transit

Catawba County government

Catawba County transit

Charlotte Area Transit System (routes begin at 10 a.m.; no Express service)

Charlotte city offices

Charlotte Mecklenburg Library

Cherryville YMCA

East Rowan YMCA

Friendship Trays (Charlotte) not operating

Gaston County courts

Gastonia Transit

Harrisburg city offices, parks

Iredell County government

Kannapolis city offices (no trash pickup)

Levine Museum

Lincoln County courts

Matthews town offices (no trash pickup)

Mecklenburg ABC stores

Mecklenburg County courts

Mecklenburg County offices

Monroe city offices

Morganton city offices ... opening 2 hours late

Mint Museum

Mooresville city offices

NASCAR Hall of Fame

Richmond County government

Richmond County courts

Rowan County government

Rowan Transit

Salisbury city offices

Salisbury Transit

Stanly YMCA

Union County government

VA clinics