19 Mecklenburg students are Achievement Scholar semifinalists

Nineteen students from more than a dozen Mecklenburg County high schools have been named semifinalists in the annual National Achievement Scholarship Program.

The scholarships are awarded annually to top African-American high school seniors, based on academic achievement and involvement in school and community activities. About 800 National Achievement scholarships will be awarded next spring.

Charlotte-area semifinalists are:

Mecklenburg County

Ardrey Kell High: Jared Hunt.

Charlotte Latin School: Tobenna Okwara; John Powell.

East Mecklenburg High: Erica Jordan.

Harding University High: Akiera Davis.

Hough High: Jordan Eggleston; Reagan Walker.

Independence High: Deirdre Austin.

Myers Park High: Kyrie Mason.

North Mecklenburg High: Danyale Calhoun.

Northside Christian School: Jared Leach.

Northwest School of the Arts: Nia Moore.

Olympic High: Jenesai Mohammed (International Studies and Global Economics school); Ivy Woods (Renaissance School of Arts and Technology).

Providence High: Kristen Gardner; Mia Mathews; Aaron Morris.

Rocky River High: Paakweisi Krentsil.

South Mecklenburg High: Nicholas Robinson.

Cabarrus County

Cannon School: Oluwadara Tokunboh.

Central Cabarrus High: Michael Williams.

Cox Mill High: Michael Walker.

Catawba County

St. Stephen’s High: Destiny Brown.

Gaston County

Gaston Christian School: Charles Pearson.

Union County

Marvin Ridge High: Walter Bonar; Christopher Garrick.

Sun Valley High: Michael Garrett.

York County

Fort Mill High: Onatasia Ebright.

Rock Hill High: Alison Thrash.

South Pointe High: Meghan Pearson; Morgan Ray.