Recount confirms Beasley’s win in NC Supreme Court race

Results from a statewide recount are completed for the N.C. Supreme Court race between Cheri Beasley, an associate justice, and Mike Robinson, a Winston-Salem lawyer.

Beasley came out victorious on Monday night as she did Nov. 4, when voters cast ballots in the general election.

According to the recount results released by the state Board of Elections, Beasley received 5,410 more votes than Robinson, out of more than 2.4 million votes cast.

Robinson, who announced his plans to call for a second count in a Facebook post, picked up 17 more votes than he finished with on election day.

The race for the Supreme Court seat that Beasley has held since her appointment in 2012 was the only statewide contest to face a recount.

Beasley, a Democrat, is one of three Democrats elected to the state’s highest court.

Democrats Robin Hudson, an associate justice, and Sam Ervin IV, a N.C. Court of Appeals judge, won their contests on Nov. 4.

Mark Martin, a Republican, was elected chief justice. The other three associate justices on the bench are Republicans, giving the party a slight edge on a seven-member court that is expected to weigh in on the legality of laws and policies adopted by state legislators in 2013.

To many, North Carolina is seen as a testing ground for the tax policies, deregulation and social-program cutbacks that national conservative organizations have promoted as part of their 21st-century platforms.

Because of that, partisan organizations have shown a keen interest in the nonpartisan N.C. Supreme Court races.