Union County commissioners choose new chairman

After a divided vote, Richard Helms became the new chairman of Union County’s Board of Commissioners this week.

Helms was elected in a 3-2 vote Monday, with former board Chair Frank Aikmus and former Vice Chair Jerry Simpson the no votes. Aikmus had nominated Simpson, who previously had served as board chair, to be the new chair, but he and Simpson were the only ones who voted for that nomination.

At the start of the meeting, two new commissioners were sworn in to the all-Republican board, Stony Rushing and Lance Simpson. Rushing, who served as commissioner from 2002 to 2006, was unanimously chosen as the board’s vice chair.

Rushing and Lance Simpson replaced Jonathan Thomas and Todd Johnson, who decided not to run for re-election.

The county also announced that its Administrative Services, Budget Division, won the Distinguished Budget Presentation Award from the Government Finance Officers Association of the U.S. and Canada.