School news

If you would like to have an announcement included in School news, send your press release to

Cannon School

Scholarships: The 82 members of Cannon School's Class of 2010, who received their diplomas in a May 21 graduation ceremony at Cannon School's campus, have received approximately $4.5 million in merit-based scholarship funds for the next four years.

Cabarrus College of Health Sciences

Awards: Two Cabarrus College of Health Sciences Occupational Therapy Assistant faculty recently were recognized at the National Maddak Awards program held at the 90th annual American Occupational Therapy Association conference in Orlando, Florida.

Amy Mahle, instructor, was awarded second place in the professional division for her invention called "Stove Knob Assist, Reach better. Cook safer." Amy, a graduate of the OTA program at Cabarrus College, was also recognized in 2006 with first place in the student category for her invention "Toothbrush Hold and Paste."

Amber Ward, instructor, was awarded third place in the professional division for her invention called the "Toetroller." The device is a splint which straps to the big toe with material that is used to press the TV remote control buttons.

Graduation: Cabarrus College of Health Sciences held its 68th spring commencement in early May at First Baptist Church, Concord. Dr. Dianne Snyder, chancellor, welcomed and congratulated the 97 graduates. Debra Plousha Moore, senior vice president of corporate human resources for Carolinas Healthcare System, provided the keynote address. Enrollment has doubled at the college since 2003. For additional information visit online at

Allied Health degrees

Medical assistant diploma: Jennifer R. Drumgold-Clay, cum laude, Charlotte; Rachel Marie Houston, magna cum laude, Charlotte; Erin Elizabeth Moore, China Grove; Kristie Lynn Rogers Morris, Salisbury; Vanessa Jade Price, summa cum laude, Lansing; Stacey Melissa Talley, Concord; and Julie Souksavanh Vongphachanh, Charlotte.

Medical assistant, associate degree: Ashley Gail Freeze, magna cum laude, China Grove; Lisa Tatum Miller, summa cum laude, China Grove; Brittany Melissa Runge, cum laude, Rural Hall; and Inga Marie Summers, cum laude, Concord.

Surgical technology diploma: Kara Michaels Bolick, cum laude, Salisbury; Kathy M. Grady, Rockwell; Helena Nan'ette Gaddy Heaggans, Statesville; Jordan Lanning Sutton, New London; and Dorina Tatar Teodorovici, cum laude, Concord.

Surgical technology, associate degree: Emily Dawn Carter, cum laude, Kannapolis; Donielle Teshowel Creamer, cum laude, Mount Holly; Ashley Michelle Earnhardt, Concord; Joshua James Hayes, Huntersville; Jenna Michelle Krimminger, magna cum laude, Concord; Sarah Brown Mullet, Mt. Ulla; Kineata Bianca Parker, Charlotte; Elisha Michelle Martin Seaford, Linwood; Sheram Angelis Serrano, Mount Holly; and Cynthia Marie White, Woodleaf.

Occupational therapy assistant, associate degree: Laura Jean-Elizabeth Billings, magna cum laude, Kannapolis; Garrett Michael Botirius, magna cum laude, Charlotte; Linda L. Callahan, magna cum laude, Charlotte; Jantzen Mitchell Cranford, cum laude, Mount Pleasant; Courtney Elizabeth Denson, cum laude, Kannapolis; Amanda Patricia Dunaway, Salisbury; Julie Michelle Duncan, Mount Pleasant; Tammi S. Gilbert, cum laude, Troutman; Elizabeth Marie Haigler, cum laude, Wingate; Laura Marie Hamilton, summa cum laude, Indian Trail; Carrie M. Holloway, summa cum laude, Indian Trail; Whitney A. Howard, magna cum laude, Sherrills Ford; Tiffany Dawn Lefler, cum laude, Concord; Alisha Michelle Love, Concord; Hannah Grace McLaurin, cum laude, Concord; Johnny Jerome Moore, magna cum laude, Charlotte; Reshma Dilipkumar Patel, cum laude, Trinity; Sarah R. Payne, summa cum laude, Valdese; Sarah Rae Uhlenhopp, Charlotte; Cheryl Lynn Uttley, magna cum laude, Charlotte; Teresa Ann Watkins, cum laude, Oakboro; and Ashley Leanna Williams, cum laude, Concord.

Health services leadership and management, bachelor of science: Shawn David Feehan, cum laude, China Grove; Michelle Hurst Gay, magna cum laude, China Grove; and Kristi Lin Pair, cum laude, Kannapolis.

Medical imaging, bachelor of science: Jenna Marie Anderson, magna cum laude, Lake Wylie; Ashley Sarah Kreps, cum laude, Salisbury; Shelby Renee Mitchell, Mount Pleasant; Rhonda Flowers Rayfield, cum laude, Landis; and Cortney Blair Watts, cum laude, Lincolnton.

Louise Harkey School of Nursing degrees: Associate degree in nursing: Marja Alexa Adair, cum laude, Concord; Lindsay Marie Appleton, cum laude, Charlotte; Julie Lynn Bauchman, cum laude, Concord; Edwin Woodrow Boger, IV, cum laude, Kannapolis; Amanda Elizabeth Caldwell, Charlotte; Tammy Michelle Baucom Cozad, cum laude, Hickory; Krista Lynn Davis, Harrisburg; Laura Beth Davis, Midland; Jillian Renee' Elliott, magna cum laude, Concord; Melissa Kristen Gilbert, cum laude, Concord; Lauren Elizabeth Grubb, Salisbury; Jennifer Leigh Hilton-Adcock, Concord; Caroline Caldwell House, Mooresville; Emily Lauren Jones, cum laude, Concord; Kellie Preslar Koontz, Salisbury; Kasey Rae Lazenby, Salisbury; Heather Hill Leonard, Woodleaf; Carolyn Marie Linaman, Charlotte; Natallia V. Maner, cum laude, China Grove; Olivia Christine Morrison, Kannapolis; Nathaniel Stephen Neptune, cum laude, Charlotte; RaGenia LaShell Edwards Norris, Kannapolis; Heather Nicole Parks, Kannapolis; Anna Nichole Petrillo, cum laude, Charlotte; Laura Marie Johnson Poole, magna cum laude, Mooresville; Christie Ann Reynolds, Concord; Elizabeth Regina Ritchie, Kannapolis; Mary Lee Rudisill, Kings Mountain;; Emily Elizabeth Smith, cum laude, Kannapolis; Kristen Mary Tisano, Mooresville; Elizabeth Leigh Van Dyke, Kannapolis; Adrienne Brooke Ward, magna cum laude, Badin; Tiffany Robertson Wilkins, cum laude, Charlotte; Natalie V. Wilson, magna cum laude, Mount Ulla; and Miranda Louise Yost, Landis.

Bachelor of science degree in nursing: Lynn Ellen Barrier Barringer, summa cum laude, Concord; Jamie Hahn Cochran, cum laude, Oakboro; Kimberly Damon Hendrick, cum laude, Kannapolis; Patricia Nicole King, cum laude, Concord; Amanda Furr Upchurch, magna cum laude, China Grove; and Christopher Arlie Upchurch, magna cum laude, China Grove.

Cox Mill High School

China partnership program: The school will participate in the North Carolina-China School Partnership Program for at least the next two school years. A guest teacher from China will teach Mandarin Chinese at Cox Mill High and Harris Road Middle School.

Northwest Cabarrus High School

Agriculture leader conference: Tyler Van Dyke has been chosen as a participant in the N.C. Farm Bureau's 2010 Institute for Future Agricultural Leaders and will attend the conference on June 13-18 on the campus of A&T State University. The institute will focus on developing leadership skills and introducing participants to the diverse career opportunities in the field of agriculture.

A Tar Heel Girls' State: Anna DuPont was selected to represent Northwest at the Tar Heel Girls' State, a leadership workshop sponsored by The American Legion concentrating on N.C. government and politics.

Kannapolis City Schools

Reception: Community reception 2-5 p.m. June 13 to honor Dr. Jo Anne Byerly on her retirement. The reception at the Cabarrus Bank Building, Cannon Village, 201 West Ave., Kannapolis, will include a special 4 p.m. ceremony to honor her. Byerly has served Kannapolis City Schools as superintendent since July 2001.