School News


Teacher retiring: Charlotte Christian School bid farewell to fourth-grade teacher Gloria Clark at the close of the 2009-10 school year. Clark taught lower school children during the past 11 years at Charlotte Christian School and for 30 years prior to that in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools. She began teaching for CMS in 1969 and taught at several Charlotte elementary schools.

Staff changes: Curtis Carroll, area superintendent for the Achievement Zone Learning Community, will be principal of Phillip O. Berry Academy of Technology. Berry's current principal, Donald Fennoy, is taking a position with New Leaders for New Schools in Baltimore.

On July 1, Carroll was scheduled to become area superintendent of the Central Secondary Learning Zone. Superintendent Peter Gorman will recommend Denise Watts for that position at the June 22 board meeting.

Cabarrus/Lake Norman

Scholarships: SECU Foundation, funded solely by the members of State Employees' Credit Union, has presented four-year college scholarships to six Iredell County high school seniors. The $10,000 scholarships recognize each recipient's community involvement, leadership skills, character and integrity as well as the scholastic achievement of maintaining a 2.5 or higher grade point average.

Sarah Elizabeth Bradford of Lake Norman High School, Mary-Claire Spencer of Statesville High School and Daniela Serna of West Iredell High School will attend UNC Chapel Hill.

Winifred Ann Feimster, a senior at North Iredell High School, will attend East Carolina University, and Peter Jonathan Kohler, a senior at South Iredell High School, will attend UNC Charlotte.

Matthew Scott Powell, a senior at Mooresville High School, will attend N.C. State.

High School Scholar: Lake Norman High School student Saverio Longobardo of Mooresville was recently selected for membership into the National Society of High School Scholars. The society recognizes top scholars and invites only those students who have achieved superior academic excellence.

Membership in the society entitles students to scholarship opportunities, academic competitions, free events and other member-only resources.