School News


Providence High School graduating senior Autumn Arciero is the 2010 recipient of the Kasie Capling Memorial Scholarship from the Charlotte Wise chapter of the N.C. Technology Association.

Arciero plans to attend UNC Chapel Hill in the fall, where she will pursue a bachelor's degree in biomedical engineering.

Candice Brown of Phillip O. Berry Academy of Technology was the scholarship runner-up. Brown received a laptop donated by Lenovo and software donated by Microsoft. Brown will attend Saint Augustine College in Raleigh, in the Dual Degree Engineering program.

West Charlotte High School freshman Blake Porter was recognized for his work as an intern in the County Commissioners office and for his academic achievements.

The recognition came during a commissioners meeting on June 15.


South Iredell High School student Molly Hudson was named the Rachel Rivers-Coffey N.C. High School Journalist of the Year.

Hudson received a $2,000 scholarship from the N.C. Press Foundation at a ceremony at UNC Chapel Hill. The foundation established the scholarship in honor of professional journalist and former NCPA president Rachel Rivers-Coffey, who was killed in a horseback-riding accident.


The following students graduated in May from the Radiography program at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College and are certified through the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists:

William Branton, Andrew Crow, Lindsey Eggers, Heather Harris, Ethan Howard, Heather Joubert, Janice Kime, Lynn Koger, Megan Linker, Kamisha Mack, Tamara Marino, Tiffany Oliver, Kimberly Raines, Chadwick Setzer, Jenna Stroud, Rebecca Sutton and Randi Swaringen.

The G.A. Pfeiffer Library at Pfeiffer University has announced publication of "Banking on the Future: Exploring Microfinance as Service, September 29, 2009 Proceedings."

The book is a compilation of research papers that were presented last fall during Pfeiffer's first microfinance colloquium. To purchase the book for $20 e-mail


Forest Hills High School cheerleader Brittany Thomas attended the National Cheer Conference and Competition in Fayetteville May 21-23.

Brittany was named first runner-up and received $1,500 in college scholarships that she intends to use while attending UNC Chapel Hill next year.

The Carolinas Credit Union Foundation awarded Amala Browne of Monroe a Scholar Vision scholarship.

Browne plans to attend South Piedmont Community College.

One hundred and eleven retiring UCPS employees were honored at a luncheon at Rolling Hills Country Club on June 16.

Superintendent Ed Davis said no matter their role, each employee was a link in the chain that made the school system strong. Shellie Rollins, a teacher at Sun Valley High School, was recognized for having the most years of service (38.5).

Before beginning their summer vacations, kindergartners in Tiffany Brown's class at Waxhaw Elementary School completed a service project to support troops at the Atsugi Naval Base in Japan.

The students cut coupons in class for about 40 minutes twice a week, and eventually collected more than $50,000 worth of coupons for the troops and their families.


The work of Jim Connell, professor of ceramics at Winthrop University, will be featured in a Columbia Museum of Art exhibit titled "SC6: Six South Carolina Innovators in Clay."

The exhibition will run through Oct. 3 in the museum's Gallery 15. In conjunction with "SC6," Connell will speak at the museum on July 16, at 1 p.m. Details: 803-799-2810.