Players named to all-state team

Ten Cabarrus County softball players were named to the N.C. Softball Coaches Association (NCSCA) All-State Team June 27.

Central Cabarrus' Chelsea Hartsell, Lindsey Brown and Tori Cragan, as well as Concord's Carlie Bodder and Northwest Cabarrus' Michaela Boyd were among those selected. Dallas King and Megan Crowe - from Jay M. Robinson - joined Mount Pleasant's Elizabeth Parker, Jocelyn Parnell and Taylor Miller to wrap up the list.

The NCSCA recognizes outstanding achievement in softball. Member and non-member coaches are given the opportunity to nominate players for all-state awards. The selection committees consist of NCSCA members from all four classifications who demonstrate superior knowledge of the game and its participants.