School news

If you would like to have an announcement included in School news, send your news release and photos to

R. Brown McAllister Elementary

Bobcats on a Mission: The school's fifth-grade student community service group recently led a service project to support U.S. troops. Under the direction of fourth-grade teacher Sandy Bravo-Boyd and Mrs. Maguire, a parent volunteer, the students organized and collected bags of items for seven care packages to be sent to relatives of students and staff serving in the U.S. military.

Furr Elementary

New principal: James Darin Roberts has been named principal of Carl A. Furr Elementary, replacing Greg Liddle, who was named principal of Harold E. Winkler Middle School in October. Roberts currently serves as assistant principal of instruction at Pitts School Road Elementary School. He has worked in administration at Pitts School Road Elementary School since 2005. Roberts began his tenure with Cabarrus County Schools in 1994 as a teacher at Northwest Cabarrus Middle School. He served as a principal intern at Harrisburg Elementary School before moving to Pitts. He earned a bachelor's degree from Radford University and a master's from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. He'll begin his new role in January.

Central Cabarrus High

Food drive winner: Mesha Smith of Central Cabarrus High School was given a MVP student award for her leadership in the inaugural Great Student Hunger Drive. She won a behind-the-scene tour of Bank of America Stadium. Central Cabarrus also received a $200 participation award. The Student Hunger Drive is a nonprofit founded in 1986. Students from 12 area high schools collected 50,474 pounds of food. The year's total will result in 7,210 meals for a family of four and 28,840 individual meals that will be distributed this year.

Pfeiffer University

Student honored: William Wright, a Pfeiffer University junior from Rockingham, recently received the North Carolina Campus Compact's fifth Community Impact Student Award. Wright was one of 34 college students across the state who received the award for making significant, innovative contributions to their campus' efforts to address local community needs. Recipients also received a Volunteer Certificate of Appreciation from Gov. Bev Perdue. A Christian education and youth ministries major, Wright serves as the senior scholar program coordinator on the Francis Center Student Leadership Team at Pfeiffer. Wright also serves as the president of the new Alpha Phi Omega service fraternity chapter. Wright planned and coordinated the visit of real-life film inspirations James "Radio" Kennedy and coach Harold Jones to Pfeiffer last February.

Holiday concert: Pfeiffer University will usher in the holiday season with its highly-anticipated annual Christmas concert, featuring several of the university's ensembles. The Concert Choir, Handbell Choir, Wind Ensemble, The Chamber Choir, and others will perform traditional Christmas favorites during two separate concerts at 4 p.m. and 7 p.m. on Dec. 5. Both performances will be held in the Henry Pfeiffer Chapel on the Misenheimer campus. The concerts are free and open the public. For more information, contact Dr. David Kirby at (704) 463-3182 or

Cabarrus Board of Education

Special recognition: The Cabarrus County Board of Education recognized students and staff at its October and November Business Meetings. The board presented students and staff from Rocky River and Royal Oaks elementary schools, Northwest Cabarrus Middle School and the Performance Learning Center with Impact Through Education Awards. The awards honor individuals who exemplify the qualities of initiative, hard work and respect for others. The awards are sponsored in partnership with Cabarrus County Schools, the Cabarrus Regional Chamber, Corning and Pizza Hut. Impact Award honorees at the October Board of Education meeting were: (from Rocky River Elementary School) Megan Carter, Branden Dillon, Lena Jordan, Mary Tinsley; (from Northwest Cabarrus Middle School) Nicole Ashburn, Lauren Hunkele, Jodi Livengood and Doug Doby. Impact Award honorees at the November Board of Education meeting were: (from Royal Oaks Elementary School) Carson Helms, Matthew Power, Sharon Willis, Jacquie Fletcher; (from Performance Learning Center) Dianna Barnhart, Charmayne Brooker, Robin Stancil and Christin McDowell.