All-Cabarrus News boys' golf team

For the last two years, Jay M. Robinson has dominated South Piedmont Conference boys' golf from start to finish.

The Bulldogs breezed through their regular season schedule, going on to win their second consecutive SPC title by 22 strokes.

Robinson coach Dick Hefner was fortunate to have four of the top six golfers in the conference in Trevor Cone, Tom Farrell, A.T. Cashwell and Andrew Geddes.

Concord's Wainwright Ritchie and A.L. Brown's Jared Devlieger wrapped up the top six.

The Bulldog golfers had great years individually, but so did the team as a whole.

Robinson finished second at the 3A Midwest Regional tournament and sixth in the 3A state championships.

The second-year Cox Mill team came in second in the SPC, while Central Cabarrus took third place in the league.

Cannon also had a solid year, finishing fourth in the always strong Charlotte Independent School Athletic Association (CISAA).

Cabarrus News golfer of the year: Trevor Cone, Jay M. Robinson

For the last four years, Trevor Cone has been building toward winning a state championship.

While the Robinson senior golfer came up just short of a state title, finishing fourth in his final high school meet, Cone had another outstanding year on the golf course.

Cone not only won his second straight SPC golf title, again being named SPC Player of the Year, but also took the 3A Midwest Regional individual championship.

Cone, who was the No. 10-ranked junior golfer in the state, isn't done with golf. He'll take his talents to Virginia Tech, where he hopes to continue to get even better during the next four years.

Cabarrus News coach of the year: Dick Hefner, Jay M. Robinson

Hefner knew he had one of the best teams in the state coming into the season. The retired Air Force colonel helped his team prove it this season, dominating in SPC play and doing well in the postseason. Hefner led the Bulldogs as they returned to the state championships as a team for the first time since 2008, when they were still in 4A.

Hefner earned his second straight SPC coach of the year honors this season.

All-Cabarrus News boys' golf team

Trevor Cone, Jay M. Robinson: SPC Player of the Year, 3A Midwest Regional medalist had another outstanding season.

Tom Farrell, Jay M. Robinson: Senior's 39.3 nine-hole average was second best in the SPC behind Cone's 36.6.

A.T. Cashwell, Jay M. Robinson: Bulldog shot a 39.9 just behind teammates.

Andrew Geddes, Jay M. Robinson: Another talented golfer on a loaded team, averaging 41 per nine.

Wainwright Ritchie, Concord: Senior finished second at SPC tournament, third in scoring average for season (39.7 per nine).

Jared Devlieger, A.L. Brown: Wonder led team with 40.89 average, ranking him fifth in SPC.

Brandon Cordell, Cox Mill: His 42.2 nine-hole average led the Chargers to a second place SPC finish.

Grant DeGorter, Cannon: Cougar sophomore qualified for states and has bright future.