News briefs

County wide

Principal of the year: Hilda Batts, principal of A.T. Allen Elementary School, has been selected as the 2012 Wells Fargo Principal of the Year for Cabarrus County Schools. She will compete with other local award recipients to be selected as the 2012 Wells Fargo Principal of the Year. Batts has served as principal of A.T. Allen Elementary School since 2006, as well as a counselor when she joined Cabarrus County Schools in 1992. Regional award recipients will be selected in February and the state winner will be announced this spring.

Voting under way: One-stop voting will be offered for registered voters through Nov. 5. The Board of Elections office is at 369 Church St. N., Concord. One-stop voting is available 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. weekdays. Ballots also can be cast 8:30 a.m.-1 p.m. Nov. 5. Absentee mail ballots also are available. Details:">


Highest honor: Angela Graham recently was named as the winner of the 2011 City of Concord Jo Atwater Continuous Core Values Award. She joined the city as housing director in January 2001, and has since built a reputation as a motivator and outreach champion. The award is the highest honor the city bestows upon its workers. Created in 2003, it recognizes one who embodies organizational core values and commitment to serving the community. The award was named after Jo Atwater, Concord's human resources director, who died in 2004.