Lake Norman & Mooresville

Lake Norman school news

Send your school news to and

Compiled by Gina Smith

Hopewell High

National art competition winners: Hopewell High School had four students win major awards recently in the annual National Scholastics Art competition. Jesse Beard, a student of Timothy McMahon, won a "Gold Key" award for a ceramic piece. "Silver Key" awards went to Erin Carter's students Mollie McGalliard in the Drawing division and John Bates in the Painting division. Carter's student Lindsay Chapman received an honorable mention for a mixed media piece. All "Silver Key" winning artwork will be exhibited at the Mint Museum on Randolph Road in Charlotte during the month of March. The "Gold Key" art will be exhibited at Spirit Square in Charlotte during the month of March.

Bradley Middle

Hip Hop fundraiser: Bradley Middle School is hosting a Hip-Hop-A-Thon fundraiser 1-4 p.m. Feb. 25 at KadiFit, 19725 Oak St., Unit 6, Cornelius. Proceeds from the event will benefit the Habitat for Humanity Middle School Build. The event will feature a disc jockey, hip-hop lessons, dancing, refreshments, and art show and more. Cost is $5 per person.

Cornelius Elementary

Chick-Fil-A fundraiser: A fundraiser to benefit Cornelius Elementary School will be held 5-9 p.m. Feb. 28 at the Northcross Chick-Fil-A at 16915 Statesville Road, Huntersville. The school will receive a percentage of the store's total sales for the evening. Details: 980-343-3905.

Huntersville Elementary

Book Fair: Huntersville Elementary will hold their Spring Book Fair 7:15 a.m. - 3:15 a.m. Monday - Friday Feb. 23-29 at the school located at 200 Gilead Road, Huntersville. The theme is "Book Fair Luau- It's a Reading Celebration!" and the sale is open to the public. For details visit

Long Creek Elementary

Honor Roll announced: Long Creek Elementary has announced its most recent honor roll students. The list of students who received all "A's" includes: Zoe Grimes, Abigail Harig, Rebecca Rocco, Abigail Westmoreland, Morgan Haynes, Joseph Moody, Julia Szymura, Logan Flournoy, Kelli Piercy, Van Rudisill, Emma Chittenden, Jalen Jones, Marshall Miles Jr. and Carmen Jarrell.