South Charlotte

School news

Lincoln Charter student Grant Swicegood recently served as a page for the N.C. House of Representatives.
Lincoln Charter student Grant Swicegood recently served as a page for the N.C. House of Representatives. LINCOLN CHARTER


Governor’s school: The following students have been invited to attend the 2015 Governor’s School: Qi Ren, Treena Chaudhuri, Kimberly Pownall, Pooja Kanabur, Angel Choe, Bryana Polk, Brandon Patrick, Anne-Marie Noblitt, Christian Smith, Carol-Ann Smith, Emily Morgan, Kayla Reische, Anne Jarrell, Rajan Tayal, Alexander Nanor, Alexandra Spratley, Gavriel Eshet, Eric Zhu, Julia Kelly, Raj Shiddapur, Devin Ward, Matthew Mitchell, Courtney Gilbert, Samantha Claypoole, Olivia Lane, Nathan Godin, Ryan McMillan, Ernaya Johnson, Lucia Castaneda, Elizabeth O’Keefe, Kylie Fackrell and Matthew Mohr.

Torrence Creek Elementary: Students have helped more than 20 nonprofit organizations this school year.

The student activities included making sandwiches for the homeless, promoting reuse of plastic bags and organizing a coat drive for Lydia’s Loft.

Lincoln Charter: Grant Swicegood recently served as a page for the N.C. House of Representatives. Grant is the son of Steve and Angela Swicegood of Charlotte. He was sponsored by Rep. Charles Jeter.

Northwest School of the Arts: Corey Mitchell won the Tony Award for Excellence in Theatre Education .

Mitchell won the Tony for his impact on students’ lives and embodiment of the highest of professional standards. In addition to a prize of $10,000 for his school, Mitchell won plane tickets for two to New York City, hotel accommodations and tickets to the Tony Awards ceremony and gala.

▪ At the fourth annual Blumenthal Performing Arts High School Musical Theater Awards, Noah Rosario won Best Supporting Actor for his portrayal of Slightly in “Peter Pan.” In addition, the school won Best Choreography Execution and Best Costume Creation for “Peter Pan.”


Clover High: Four teachers have been awarded Clover LEAF Grants. Renee Monteith and Beth VanEtten received $981.99 for “Be Epic in Job Seeking.” Kelsey Anderson received 1,000 for “Life on the Farm” and Bou Baker received $1,047.26 for “Culinary Art Goes Pro!”

The awards are presented by Clover Leaders for Educational Advancement Foundation Inc. (LEAF) in support of innovative classroom programs.

York District: Alexis Zara, Leah Fuda and Halle West are 2015 recipients of the United Against Bullying Award for PACER’s National Bullying Prevention Center’s Unity Awards.

The students were honored at the Unity Awards in June and received the award for raising awareness of bullying prevention in the York community. Earlier in the school year, the women organized a 5K run to support the project.

Rock Hill District: At the recent sixth annual Family Trust Vocabulary Bowl, the Ebinport Elementary team won the fourth grade contest and York Road’s team won the fifth grade contest.

Ebinport team members were Aubrey Shumpert, Eli Robinson, Henry Clarke, Adam Lovell and Manual Summers, coached by Kimberly Harris. York Road team members were Keegan Finnerty, Riley Morris, Destiny Curry, Cayce Crowder and Julianne Phi, coached by Charlene Crocker.

Clover High: John Austin King, Lucas Curtis Grondin and SarahAnn Barbara Therrell have been accepted into the South Carolina Governor’s School for the Arts and Humanities.

The students will attend the Greenville residential high school for nine months. John will study music and piano, Lucas will focus on visual arts and SarahAnn plans to specialize in music and flute.

South Pointe High: Justin Norwood won Best Actor at the fourth annual Blumenthal Performing Arts High School Musical Theater Awards. Justin portrayed Radames in “Aida.” He will receive an all-expenses-paid trip to New York City where he will compete with other regional winners in the National High School Musical Theaters Awards.


Patriots STEM Elementary: Fourth grade AIG students have raised more than $2,000 for Charity: Water.

The students were inspired to host a fundraiser after reading the book “A Long Walk to Water.” The group created commercials and set up an information station during field day and raised the amount in two days.

Northwest Cabarrus High: Lauren Hunkele won the Blumey Award for Best Actress.

Lauren won the award for her performance as Jo March in the school’s production of “Little Women.” She received the recognition at the fourth annual Blumenthal Performing Arts High School Musical Theater Awards ceremony held May 17.

JN Fries Magnet: Jeffrey Natoli has been awarded two professional development grants in U.S. History. The seventh and eighth grade humanities teacher received grants from the National Endowment of the Humanities and The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History and will attend seminars on The News Media and the Making of America and Colonial Encounters: Indians, Europeans and Africans.

Governor’s school: The following students were selected to attend the N.C Governor’s School: Mary Willis, Ryan Petty, Faith Martin, Katherine Laws, Merrill Douglass, Drew Cheek, Luke Tucker, Dharma Peterson, Grant Brown, Tam Nguyen, Chloe Arrojado, Emily Badgett, Maram Elnagheeb, Emily Absher, Leah Woeher and Maya Christian.


Parkwood Middle: Parkwood Middle eighth grade social studies students have placed second in the National Social Studies League competition.

The team earned a combined score of 467 out of 500 possible points on the test, which measures knowledge of American history. Parkwood students Sarah Harkins and Jacob Bose earned 49 out of 50 points on their tests. Daniel Stanford is the team sponsor.

Piedmont High: Weston Morgan has received $1.4 million in scholarship offers and will attend Wake Forest University.

Katherine Gooch received $1.2 million in scholarships and will attend Wingate University. Helly Patel received $1 million in scholarships and will attend Appalachian State University.

Chandler Williams started Two Boys and Brush with his brother while in high school. Chandler will attend Wingate University. John Jenkins had a perfect attendance record for kindergarten through 12th grade.

Weddington High: Stephanie Watts received $2.2 million in scholarships and will attend UNC Chapel Hill on a full basketball scholarship.

The 2015 Naismith High School All-American, the 2015 NC Gatorade Player of the year and the 2014-2015 N.C. Basketball Coaches Association District 9 Player of the Year are among state and national basketball recognitions Stephanie has received.

▪ Michael Drewery started a fundraising community to purchase LifeStraws, personal water filters for Kenyan children. Michael has raised more than $1,000 to purchase 100 LifeStraws.

Forest Hills High: Jesse Helms will attend West Point Military Academy. In addition to graduating at the top of his class, Jesse participated in multiple community activities including Operation Christmas Child and food drives.

Parkwood High: Savannah Hargett had a perfect attendance record for kindergarten through 12th grade.

Compiled by Cindy Stern