South Charlotte

School news

If you would like to have an announcement included in School news, send a press release and photos to

Covenant Day

Junior Classical League: Covenant Day high school won second place in the large school division at the NC JCL State Convention on April 9. Covenant Day middle school won second place. Individual award winners were: Derivative Test – Hannah Ertel first, Reagan Adams second, Palmer Roberts second, Jonathan Haigh third; Grammar Test – Richie Wachowski first, Abby Robinson second, Reagan Adams third, Palmer Roberts third, Julianna Brewer fourth, Rebekah James fifth; History Test –– Sam Duggins second, Jordan Quick third; Impromptu Art – Hawani Adugna first; Illustrated Quote – Libby Rau first, Lexie Moser third; Other Textiles – Ellen Goodling third, Leah Ertel fourth; Black Ink – Reagan Adams second; Ink (Colored) – Reagan Adams third; Pottery – Jessica Boyce first, Elise Dudley second; Charcoal – Christina Goforth first, Allie Ferguson third; Movie – Lauren Shehane second, Meg Osowski and Gloria Herrin fifth; Games – Brister Jones first, Charlotte Sanders third; Mosaics – Alyssa Walker third; Poetry – Mariah Harrelson third, Christina Goforth fourth, Evan Bertram fifth; Modern Myth-Category 1 – Lexie Moser fifth; Modern Myth-Category 2 – Richie Wachowski first, Charlotte Sanders second, Allie Ferguson third, Vanessa Scott fifth; Modern Myth-Category 3 – Gianna Marie Dobson first, Amelia Brumwell fourth; Banner – Jessie Floyd and Alli Vonder second; Costume: Mary Kate Roper first, Scott Gardner and Thomas Nations first, Alli Vonder second, Makenna Wray and Sarah Haines third; 400 Meters – Chad Hunkler first; Chariot Race-male charioteer–second place – Logan Foltz, Reagan Adams, Caroline Fletcher, Roni Langley, Makenna Wray; Oil & Acrylic – Rebekah James second, Reanna Brooks third; Colored Pencil – Zach Eagy second, Parker Hawks fourth; Large Models – Vanessa Scott fourth, Katie Younce fifth; Small Models – Carly Brower third, Mary Kate Roper fourth, Alexa Snapper fifth; Mixed Media – Claudia Carpenter first; Miscellaneous – Logan Foltz second; Cartoons – Noah Biggerstaff third; Website – Nick Ashley and Brent Younce first; Decorative Stitching – Erin McNulty first, Hannah Ertel third; Greeting Cards – Gracie Groves second; PowerPoint – Richie Wachowski second; Jewelry – Ellie Farrish first; Chariot Race-female charioteer-third – DeAnna Shires, Logan Foltz, Daniel Maisel, Hunter Stilwell, Matthew Swanson; Softball Throw – Megan Embry first, Matthew Swanson fourth, Julie Hammond fourth, Brennan McCarthy fifth; Frisbee Throw – John Warren third, Roni Langley third, Ben Johnson fourth, DeAnna Shires fourth; Mile Run: Jack Cogdill second, Alana Kitchen second, Ben McBroom third; 100 Meters – Christina Boyce first, Abigail Wallace second, Jordan Quick third, Brister Jones fifth; 4x200 Meter Relay – Second PLACE – Jack Cogdill, Daniel Maisel, Brister Jones, Ben McBroom; 4x200 Meter Relay – Second Place – Mariah Harrelson, Hayley Hertel, Katherine Murdoch, Makenna Wray; Co-ed Relay – 1st Place: Jack Cogdill, Megan Embry, Ben McBroom, Emma VandeVelde.

Charlotte Christian

Elon scholars: Two juniors have been selected as North Carolina Junior Elon Scholars at Elon University. Daniel Goldstein and Abby Seelig were both chosen and honored at a banquet held recently on the campus of Elon University.

Ardrey Kell

Presidential scholar: Senior Jameson Ondrof has been named one of approximately 560 semifinalists in the 2011 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. Final selection of the scholars will be made this month. Selections were based on exceptional performance on either the SAT or ACT.

Kenan Fellow: Teacher Pamela Weghorst has been named a Class of 2012 Keenan Fellow. The Kenan Fellows Program for Curriculum and Leadership Development is a competitive fellowship offered to K-12 public schoolteachers.

Charlotte Jewish Day

Grandparents Day: Grandparents Day is Friday. Call the main office at 704-366-4558 to RSVP or for more details.

Charlotte Latin

National Merit Scholarships: Seniors Elizabeth Carlson, Maddie Metz and Jalen Ross are among the first winners in the National Merit and National Achievement Scholarship Programs conducted by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. Approximately 1,000 distinguished high school seniors have won corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarships and approximately 100 outstanding African-American seniors have won corporate-sponsored National Achievement Scholarships. Carlson received a National Merit Scholarship sponsored by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation and Metz received a National Merit Scholarship sponsored by Novartis Corp. Ross received a National Achievement Scholarship sponsored by the Reynolds American Foundation. He also is an Honorary National Merit Scholar.

Presidential scholar: Senior Brendan Shi has been named one of approximately 560 semifinalists in the 2011 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. Final selection of the scholars will be made this month. Selections were based on exceptional performance on either the SAT or ACT.

Duke TIP: Twenty-four Charlotte Latin seventh-grade students have qualified for recognition in the 2010-11 Duke University Talent Identification Program's (Duke TIP) Seventh-Grade Talent Search based upon their exceptional scores on the SAT or ACT. The following students have qualified for recognition: Grand Recognition - Brendan Downing and Raymon Wang; State Recognition - Austin Acks, Noah Berens, Richard Cai, Alex Chen, Addison Debord, Zachary Dexter, Kiera Dowell, Brendan Downing, Michael Egues, Andrew Fish, Eric Gaines, Harrison Garrett, Somaya Gupta, William Kenny, Andrew Maxwell, Elizabeth Myers, Robert Naumann, Jay Pakala, Marshall Rich, Robert Salisbury, Olivia Sprow, Azeem Uraizee, Griffin Walsh and Raymon Wang.

North Carolina Junior Classical League

North Carolina Junior Classical League: The N.C. Junior Classical League recently announced its state convention results. Those honored included Charlotte Christian Middle, a new chapter participating this year: two mythology test winners, impromptu and graphic art winners; Providence High, fifth in Large High School Division; Covenant Day Middle School, second place in Middle School Division; Covenant Day High School, second place in Large High School Division; first place in Creative Arts, student Katelyn Mullins; and Charlotte Latin, third in Large High School Division /Intermediate Level Certamen winners.

Hawk Ridge Elementary

Service project: The third-grade students at Hawk Ridge Elementary School led a schoolwide service project that netted the biggest donation Ronald McDonald House of Charlotte has received to date from any school partnership, including local colleges. The students took part in Ronald McDonald House's "Pennies for Playtime" fundraiser, collecting approximately 50 pounds of pop tabs and $1,017 in cash. The local McDonald's of Charlotte will match that amount, so the Ronald McDonald House will receive $2,034.

British American School of Charlotte

Royal wedding celebration: Students and staff of the British American School will don hats, morning coats, suits, gowns, fascinators or even tiaras and kingly crowns as they celebrate at 2 p.m. May 6 for the April 29 royal wedding, which took place when students were on spring break. The school will pay tribute by dressing as wedding guests, members of the royal family or ambassadors from other countries, and taking part in an English tradition: a street party.


Teacher of the Year: Seven CMS teachers were selected this year as finalists for the 2010-11 Teacher of the year, including Karen Meadows of Sedgefield Elementary.