South Charlotte

School news

If you would like to have an announcement in School news, send a press release and photos to

Charlotte Latin

N.C. math team: Sophomore Connie Zhou has been selected for the North Carolina math team and will represent the state at the annual American Regions Mathematics League national competition in June.

Latin language exams: Freshmen Emily Ho and Mary Page Welch achieved perfect scores on the 2011 National Latin Exam. They are among only 568 students to attain this distinction of the more than 137,000 in 15 countries who took the examination. Junior Roman Berens scored in the top 10 in the 2010-11 CAMWS Latin Translation Contest. Seniors John Bowman and Baynes Welch received Book Awards for placing in the top 30 in this competition, and junior Win Holt received a Letter of Commendation.

Covenant Day

Graphic design competition: Junior Emily Horacek was honored at the 2012 National Christian College Fairs postcards competition. Horacek's submission earned her a $500 scholarship and her design in part will be featured in the 2012 NCCF post card.


Bruce Irons Camp: This summer 55 CMS students will take part in the Bruce Irons Camp Fund (BICF), a Charlotte-area nonprofit agency that works to send high-potential, low-income students to experience summer camp. Students either attend one of three camps in the North Carolina mountains or receive an introduction to college life at UNC Charlotte's Camps on Campus. The fund was established in 1988 by friends, family members and colleagues of Bruce Irons, a CMS principal who was committed to the belief that all children should have equal access to educational opportunities. The program is unique because students are selected in the fourth grade and stay for five consecutive summers. The program is funded by individual donations and by foundations, including a $35,000 donation from The Leon Levine Foundation this year.

South Mecklenburg High

Science scholarship: The winner of the 2011 Stacey Palasek Memorial Scholarship is Kristen Cotner of South Mecklenburg High School. Michael J. Collins, Jr., director of strategic marketing at CEM Corporation, presented the $5,000 scholarship award at a reception held at the company's headquarters in Matthews. CEM Corporation is a global company specializing in scientific solutions for critical laboratory applications. Cotner is a senior at South Mecklenburg High School with a GPA of 5.093. In addition to Cotner, the CEM Grant & Award Committee chose three finalists who received $500: Catherine Jarrett of Charlotte Christian School, Kelsey Killion of Cuthbertson High School and Madeline Monroe of Providence High School. Stacey Palasek was a research chemist with CEM Corporation who passed away unexpectedly in 2006.

Providence High School

Scholarship winner: Senior Therese Vesagas was selected as a recipient of the City of Burbank Youth Board's "Austin Cook Award for Outstanding Youth." Vesaga was selected as an excellent example of a student who possesses the character, achievement, and actions that have contributed to the community.

Scholarship winner: Senior Megan Roope was named the 2011 Warner brothers REACH program scholarship/internship winner.

Ardrey Kell High School

Band honored: The Ardrey Kell Jazz Band participated in the North Carolina Western Region Jazz Assessment held at Northview Middle School in Hickory on May 13. The Jazz Band received a Superior rating, which is the highest rating possible from the judges. Ardrey Kell was one of only three high school in CMS to receive this prestigious rating. The Jazz Band is directed by Larry Shane.

Myers Park/Ardrey Kell

DeMayo scholarships: Fifteen high school seniors who created winning videos and presentations on how to prevent underage drinking and driving have each been awarded $2,500 scholarships toward their college education through the ninth annual Michael A. DeMayo Scholarship Program. Attorney Michael DeMayo presented the scholarship winners with their checks at a dinner he hosted for the students and their families on May 16 at Maggiano's in Charlotte. The 2011 scholarship recipients include Imani Augustus, Ardrey Kell High School, attending UNC Chapel Hill and Emilia Moncayo, Myers Park High School, attending UNC Asheville.

National Merit Scholarships

Local winners: Three CMS students have been named National Merit Scholarship winners. Emily Auerbach from Myers Park will attend UNC Chapel Hill, Garrett Guion from Butler will attend New York University and Tyler Kroeschell from Providence will attend Auburn University. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship. College-sponsored Merit Scholarship 2011 winners total about 8,300 high school seniors who will receive scholarships for college undergraduate study worth nearly $35 million.