South Charlotte

School news

Send school news to

Cuthbertson High

Youth safety: Cuthbertson High School sophomore Jessica Weber was recognized by the National Association of SAVE for her youth safety and violence prevention efforts. The 2010-11 National SAVE Student of the Year Award was awarded to Jessica for outstanding performance and lasting contributions to her school, community and fellow students and for exemplifying the ideals of SAVE. Jessica started the school's SAVE chapter.

The Goddard School

Open house: The school in Indian Trail will celebrate its second birthday with a Hawaiian-themed open house from 5-7 p.m. on June 10. Families with children ages 6 weeks to 6 years old are invited to join the celebration and tour the school. Classroom crafts and games and outdoor activities will be geared to preschool-age children and dinner will be provided, along with birthday cake. Parents will have an opportunity to learn about the new Junior Kindergarten program that begins in August. Details: 704-289-8103.

Union County

One-penny tax: About 30 Union County parents converged on Raleigh on May 24 to encourage state legislators to support extending the one-penny sales tax (due to end on July 1) in hopes of reducing the impact of pending state budget cuts on the Union County Public Schools. N. C. Rep. Frank McGuirt was the only local legislator who voiced support for extending the sales tax, and he thanked the parents for making the three-hour drive from Monroe. Parents visited the offices of all four of the county's legislators.

Hemby Bridge Elementary

Spring banquet: Hemby Bridge Elementary teacher assistant April Phillips was named the 2011 Teacher Assistant of the Year during the 19th annual Spring Banquet at South Piedmont Community College on May 19. Phillips, 29, was one of three finalists for the title given by the Union County Chapter of the North Carolina Association of Teacher Assistants. Krintz Hill, a teacher assistant at Weddington Elementary and Olenma Figueroa-Alvarez, a teacher assistant at Wingate Elementary, were the other finalists. Phillips will now go on to compete for the District Six teacher of the year title.


Winners: The UCNCATA awarded three scholarships to UCPS students, all children of teacher assistants in Union County. A $500 scholarship was awarded to Caroline Marie Brewer of Piedmont High School; a $500 scholarship was awarded to Morgan Briana Brown of Parkwood High School; and a $1,000 scholarship was given to Graham David Taylor of Porter Ridge High School.

Air Force JROTC

National honors: Two Union County Public Schools Air Force JROTC units took national honors recently, earning the Distinguished Unit Award, the highest possible award from Headquarters Air Force Junior ROTC for 2010-11. Units NC-20067 at Parkwood High School and NC-955 at Piedmont High School earned the award. Parkwood's unit was one of 208 units to receive the 2010-2011 Air Force Junior ROTC Distinguished Unit with Merit Award. Piedmont's unit, which was not scheduled for an external evaluation this year, includes students from Piedmont and Porter Ridge High Schools, and was one of 196 units that earned the Distinguished Unit Award.