South Charlotte

School news

Send your school news to

Odyssey of the Mind

First place: Two Charlotte-Mecklenburg schools placed first in the Odyssey of the Mind World Finals on May 31. Beverly Woods Elementary School took first in Division I, while Myers Park High School took first in Division III.

Leadership award

Student-athletes: The following five Charlotte area student-athletes were among 25 recipients of the sixth annual Coleman Lew Leadership Award co-hosted by Coleman Lew and Associates Inc., an international executive search firm and the Southern Conference: Nadia Liriano of North Mecklenburg High School; Christian Bailey of Ardrey Kell; James Carroll of Myers Park; Virginia Mayor of Myers Park; and Will Mack of Mooresville High. The award recognizes student-athletes from each of the Southern Conference's 12 member institutions.



National Honor Society: A.L. Brown Senior High School student Jerron L. Bruce has been selected for membership in the National Society of High School Scholars. The society recognizes top scholars and invites only those students who have achieved academic excellence.

Teacher of the Year

Rowan-Salisbury: Overton Elementary School teacher Theresa Pierce is the 2011 Rowan-Salisbury School System's Teacher of the Year. In addition to this award, Price received a $1,000 stipend to be used for her school or classroom. She also received a new laptop computer and printer. Daniel Trivette, band teacher at West Rowan High School, was named runner-up. Daniel received a gift certificate donated by Dr. Alan King of Creative Teaching Aids. Other finalists include Jason Harwood of Rockwell Elementary School, Sallie Hundley of North Rowan High School and Sherry Lyerly-Tarner of Southwest Middle School.


Lowes: Statesville High School student Cassandra Wodecki recently was awarded a $2,500 scholarship from the Lowe's Charitable and Educational Foundation. Wodecki will use the scholarship to attend Furman University. In 2011, Lowe's awarded 190 scholarships totaling $600,000 to high school and college students nationwide. Mooresville Senior High School student Brian Hamilton recently was awarded the Carl Buchan Scholarship in the amount of $5,000 from the Lowe's Charitable and Educational Foundation. Hamilton will use the scholarship to attend Brigham Young University.


Moose Riders

Donation: The Moose Riders, a motorcycle club from Monroe Moose Lodge 1554, recently visited Walter Bickett Education Center with a check for $1,000. The club held a benefit April 29 to raise money for charitable donations. The money was split between Walter Bickett Education Center and Mooseheart Child City and School (a home and school in Illinois founded in 1913 for children in need). The efforts raised enough money to send Mooseheart $1,000 and WBEC $1,000.

Global Schools

Network: Union County Public Schools has joined the Global Schools Network, an alliance of schools, organizations and businesses committed to creating collaborative and multifaceted approaches to international education. This program will focus students on one global region or continent for extensive study.