South Charlotte

School news

If you would like to have an announcement included in School news, send a news release and photos to


South Charlotte scholarship recipients: Eight south Charlotte Autobell employees with high school diplomas received scholarships for college from Autobell Car Wash based on an application process. This year's winners were Colton Ash, Aduard Avanesov, Roshan Bhula, Matthew Hallum, Alyssa Holiway, Stanley Nguyen, Jacob Provost and Nam Vu.

Hood Hargett Breakfast Club: The Hood Hargett Breakfast Club raised more than $22,000 for the Liz Murray Scholarship Fund, which benefits Charlotte high school seniors during its annual Casino Night fundraiser Aug. 11. Details:

Charlotte Christian

National merit: Charlotte Christian seniors Catherine Jarrett and Jake Younts were selected as winners of the National Merit $2,500 Scholarship in the 56th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

Eagle Scout awards: Recent graduates from Charlotte Christian, Jay Putnam, Zach Daughtry and Adam Price were recognized by Congresswoman Sue Myrick for receiving their Eagle Scout Award.

Providence Day

New leaders: Providence Day School welcomed three new administrators: Dr. Glyn Cowlishaw, headmaster; David Ahern, athletic director and Jeffrey Appel, director of institutional advancement. For information, 704-887-6001 or

Charlotte Country Day

Fundraisers: Middle school students will be selling car wash coupons valid at any Autobell for $15. Fifty percent of every coupon sold will go to CCDS. Lower School students will sell wrapping paper with 40 percent of all sales going to CCDS. Sales end Sept. 16.

Quail Hollow Middle

Band director wins award: Barbara Tobin, Quail Hollow Middle School's band director for 15 years, recently won The Cato Excellence in Teaching Award.

Myers Park High

Scholarship winner: Sunny Darji, former graduate of Myers Park High and recent graduate of UNC Chapel Hill, was selected as one of three Brody Scholars at the Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University for the class of 2015. Brody Scholars receive four years of medical school tuition, living expenses and the opportunity to design their own summer enrichment program.