South Charlotte

Ardrey Kell is tops at conference meet

Ardrey Kell High closed the Southwestern 4A in style, sweeping both the boys' and girls' honors in the conference cross country championships.

The Knights, who also won both events last year, quickly are becoming one of the area's best teams. The Knights had five girls finish in the top nine and four boys in the top six to claim the overall team titles.

Senior Kaitlyn Kramer finished in 17 minutes, 48 seconds, beating her own meet record by 25 seconds and claiming her third consecutive conference championship. Kramer is the fourth girl to win the conference meet three years in a row.

Sophomore Sydney Foreman, the top-ranked sophomore in the state by, finished 12 seconds behind Kramer for second place. Rounding out the Knights who finished in the top nine were senior Abby Brooks (19:08) and juniors Sydney Teague (19:10) and Samantha Teague (19:13).

Other top-10 finishers were South Meck senior Madelin Tablert (third, 18:32), Providence sophomore Bianca Bishop (fourth, 19:02), South Meck freshman Lily Anderson (fifth, 19:02), Myers Park sophomore Meg Greene (sixth, 19:08) and Myers Park junior Sonia Payerpaj (10th, 19:28).

Providence sophomore Wyatt Maxey won the boys' race in 15:51 and was joined in the top 10 by junior teammate Joe Sullivan, who finished ninth with 16:41.

Ardrey Kell seniors Parth Sah (second, 16:09), Madison Souder (third, 16:10), Daniel Whalen (fifth, 16:24) and Thomas McLean (sixth, 16:30) all finished within 40 seconds of the winner.

Myers Park had the other top-10 performers in seniors Dakota Poindexter (fourth, 16:13) and Jansen Coulter (seventh, 16:38), junior Jack Matkins (eighth, 16:39) and senior Kyle Hoffman (10th, 16:45).

More dominant seasons may be on the horizon for head coach Brian Zelk. The boys team will return junior Ryland Peele, who finished 11th, and sophomores Harrisson Saint, Christian White, Ian Barclay and Dylan Moss. who each ran under 18:14 at the conference meet.

Freshmen Samuel Pierlott and Jason Port will also take on larger roles.

Foreman will be one of the conference's top female runners for the next two years. The Teague sisters will be joined by juniors Aleisha Murrell, Mary Klemons, Carly Murden and freshman Annie Britt.

Both teams appear ready to chase a third consecutive title beginning next year.