South Charlotte

Sports briefs: Charlotte Ambush wins Disney Field Hockey Showcase

The Charlotte Ambush U19 field hockey team beat Maryland's Capital Pegasus Eagles in the championship of the Daisy division at the Disney Field Hockey Showcase in Florida.

The team is the first from North Carolina to win a gold medal at the event.

The Ambush, part of the Charlotte Field Hockey Club, were tied 1-1 with the Eagles after regulation and won the Feb. 12 game in penalty strokes.

The Ambush beat NC Triads 2-0, Tcoyo Yang (Va.) 2-0 and Nomads Teal (Mass.) 4-0 in the group stage to advance to semifinals. The team beat Tidewater FHC Undertow (Va.) 2-0 to advance to the championship.

The team has players from Charlotte, Winston-Salem and Raleigh. The Ambush is coached by Miki Osherow (Providence Day), Alex Armas (Providence Day) and Hannah Lawrence (Davidson College senior).

Team members: Karsyn Tall (Hickory Grove), Sarah Barry (Charlotte Latin), Arielle Massillon (Providence Day), Kate Lorenz (Providence Day), Rebecca Jones (Latin), Annie Brown (Providence Day), Hannah Darrow (Charlotte Country Day), Emily Miller (Mount Tabor), Mackenzie Busby (Providence Day), Maggie Whitley (Country Day), Taylor Ednie (Ravenscroft), Princess Sutherland (Country Day), Caroline Macklin (Reynolds), Esty Byrd (Country Day), Lauren McFayden (Country Day) and Josie Morgan (West Forsyth).

NCHSAA conference realignment

The N.C. High School Athletic Association released its latest conference realignment plan, which would go into effect for 2013-14.

The realignment committee's latest proposal mirrors the one submitted by Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools in January. The biggest changes in south Charlotte are the move of Charlotte Catholic from 3A to 4A and the inclusion of Union County's Porter Ridge in the Mecklenburg conferences.

Schools can appeal the plan until March 1. The committee will release a final plan March 15, which must then be approved by the NCHSAA Board of Directors at their May meeting.

Here's the latest plan for the Mecklenburg County 4A conferences:

Conference 4: Ardrey Kell, Berry, Charlotte Catholic, Harding, Olympic, Providence, South Mecklenburg and West Mecklenburg.

Conference 5: A.L. Brown, Hopewell, Hough, Mallard Creek, North Mecklenburg, Jay M. Robinson, West Charlotte and Vance.

Conference 6: Butler, East Mecklenburg, Garinger, Independence, Myers Park, Porter Ridge and Rocky River.