South Charlotte

School news

If you would like to have an announcement in School news, send a press release and photos to

Compiled by Cindy Stern


Lake Wylie Elementary: Beverly Dees has won the first CMS Hometown Hero Award. The first grade teacher received a $250 gift card from the Charles G. Monnett III & Associates law firm for her dedication and mentoring. The law firm makes the award monthly using community online voting at

Semifinalists: The National Merit Scholarship Corp. has named students at the following schools as semifinalists based on national test scores.

The students are:

• Ardrey Kell: Aivia Kallattil, Vishnu P. Menon, Lakshmi Prakash.

• Butler: Charlotte M. Pak.

• Cato Middle College: Elizabeth C. Morris; William Amos.

• Hough: Joseph J. Andry, Via L. Savage, Sean D. Stewart.

• Myers Park: Kate E. Aberman, Eliette D. Albrecht, Jack H. Christensen, William W. Cranford, Pierre S. Lipton, Carrie L. Sauder, Melanie W. Walsh.

• North Mecklenburg: Anika Agarwal.

• Providence: Annie P. Ball, Kate R. Brown, Connor J. Hall, Emma G. Hankins, Erica R. Hennes, Rachel J. Pomerantz, Jack P. Vincent, Jada C. Walters.

• South Mecklenburg: Justin M. Giles, Audrey E. Hommes.

• Woodlawn School: Joe Andry, Meredith Simpson.

The students may now apply for a finalist slot for 7,600 National Merit scholarships.

Highland Renaissance Academy: The school collaborated with Second Harvest Food Bank, Food Lion and Charlotte Hornets and distributed more than 9,500 meals to 300 school families. The Sept. 16 on-site food bank is the sixth and largest the school has hosted. The families received a visit from Hornets players Cody Zeller and Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Hugo the Hornet and the Food Lion mascot.

Phillip O. Berry Academy of Technology: Students Zack May, Brenda Ramos and Diana Vallejo, along with representatives from three other area robotics teams, participated in the United Technologies Corp. Aerospace Division’s lunch and learn session Sept. 10. The team’s presentation highlighted the STEM program and its benefits and the resources needed to build robots for competition.

Torrence Creek Elementary: Students participated in a ribbon cutting ceremony with Mecklenburg County Park and Recreation and the town of Huntersville to celebrate the opening of the extension of the Torrence Creek Greenway, Tributary 2 on Sept. 9.

The 1-mile trail in Huntersville will allow more students to walk or bike to/from school, if desired.


Odell Elementary: Marla Guerity has won the first Hometown Hero award for Cabarrus County Schools.

The second grade teacher received a gift card award and a pizza party for her class. Hometown Hero is sponsored by Monnett & Associates to recognize teachers and help offset personal money teachers spend yearly on classroom supplies. The monthly award is determined through online voting nominations open to the public. To nominate, visit:

Covenant Classical School: The school will hold its fall festival on Oct. 3 from 5-8 p.m. Food, rock climbing, and a dunk tank will be part of the event.

New promotions: Superintendent Barry Shepherd announced new promotions on Sept. 9. The list includes: Charles “Chuck” Taylor, director of facilities and maintenance; Lisa Hartman, principal at Winecoff Elementary; Andy Maness, assistant principal at Mount Pleasant Middle; and William “Billy” Davis, assistant principal at Cox Mill High.

Concord High: Rocky Reid has been nominated for the Big 22 2014 High School Players to Watch from WSOC. Online voting for the first round ends Oct. 9.

Hickory Ridge: Nate Mullen has been nominated for the Big 22 2014 High School Players to Watch from WSOC. Online voting for the first round ends Oct. 9.

Mount Pleasant High: Leon Ensley’s family and friends would like to establish a scholarship in his memory.

Ensley served many years as a coach and teacher. His family also is planning a memorial bench in his honor to be placed near the baseball field. Donors may send a check to MPHS, Attn: Brandy Crisco, School Treasurer, 700 Walker Road, Mount Pleasant, N.C., 28124. Checks should be made payable to the Leon Ensley Memorial Fund.


South Pointe High: Seniors Justin Norwood and Ammon Strong recently performed in Theatre Charlotte’s production of “Footloose.” Justin acted in the lead role after competing with area high school talent.

Clover High: Alyssa Campbell won the individual championship at the South Pointe High School Lady Stallions Stampede Invitational on Sept. 9. The freshman won the medal with a 2 under round of 70. The round of 70 is the lowest round scored by a CHS girls’ golfer. Alyssa is the first tournament champion in CHS history.

Clover High: Alex Lamparter cheered on her favorite football team, the NY Jets, Sept. 7 at MetLife Stadium on opening day.

The sophomore is battling Ewing’s Sarcoma and received the trip from Dream On 3. Alex was surprised with the gift during halftime of the Sept. 5 Clover High football game at Memorial Stadium.

York: At the September board meeting, the following schools were recognized for receiving a perfect score on the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards: Cotton Belt; H.C. Johnson; Hunter Street; York Intermediate; and York Middle.


Cuthbertson High: The school’s SAVE Club hosted the school’s first blood drive of the year on Sept. 12. The event collected 82 units, which will benefit 246 patients in the Union County area. Community Blood Center of the Carolinas sponsored the event.

Union Academy Charter: Lyndsey Simpson has been awarded the 2014-2015 UAC Teacher of the Year.

Simpson is a nationally board certified teacher and received a bachelor’s degree in elementary education from UNC Charlotte. She has been a Union Academy third grade teacher for seven years.

Indian Trail Elementary: Kristine Barberio has been named the first UCPS Hometown Hero.

The fifth grade teacher was recognized for her commitment and dedication. Charles G. Monnett III & Associates designates area teachers monthly through online voting at the law firm’s website. The winning teacher in each county receives a $250 gift card for classroom supplies and a classroom pizza party. To nominate a teacher, visit:

Global education: Teachers Amy Jackson (East Elementary), Gabriel Oprea (South Providence), Jennifer Mao (Walter Bickett Education Center), Jennifer Whitley (Forest Hills High) and Meredith Sizemore (Porter Ridge Elementary) were recognized for global education during the Global Education Recognition Ceremony on Sept. 15.

The teachers, in the fourth cohort of the Union County Global Teacher Leaders, were selected through an application and portfolio process and judged by county teachers and administrators.