South Charlotte

School news

If you would like to have an announcement in School news, send your news release and photos to

Compiled by Cindy Stern

South Meck High

Chamber choir: Allison Eldson, Noah Cortes, Spencer Youngblood, Lucy Thames and Mary Catherine Evans were accepted to the N.C. High School Honors Chorus through audition.

Daniel Wynkoop is the SMHS choir director.

Charlotte Christian

Athletes signing: The following eight athletes signed national letters of intent Nov. 18: Baseball: Dillon Carpenter, Anderson University; Josh Hall, Charleston Southern University; Reece Hampton, UNC Charlotte; Heath Hawkins, Furman University; Ross Kemp, Spartanburg Methodist College; Jackson Kowar, Clemson University; Bailey Lewis, The Catholic University of America; and Softball: Meredith Harris, UNC Charlotte.

Charlotte Latin

WorldQuest team: The CL Academic WorldQuest team placed second in the AWQ competition Nov. 12.

The team competed against 600 students from Charlotte-area schools. The team includes upper school students Inessa Chandra, Jonathan Chen, Jamie Kaplan, Mary Katherine Lupo, Clyde Nelson, Nova Quaoser, Matthew Sparks and Nick Verderame, and is advised by teachers Karen Glenn and Whitney Duquette.

Honors orchestra: Tatiana Krzesicki was selected as first-chair violinist for the 2014 N.C. All-State Honors Orchestra on Nov. 7-9.

Krzesicki also led the orchestra during performances and performed a solo.

MUN conference: The upper school Model United Nations team participated in the College of William and Mary Model UN Conference.

James McLelland received Best Delegate award. The team included Sabrina Brewer, Richard Cai, Kara Chen, Andrew Egge, Dan Jessell, Tatiana Krzesicki, Jasmine Leahy, James McLelland, Kelly Mulrooney, William Plumides, John Reilly, Marshall Rich, Kaille Silver, Alex Warmath, Jazz Zheng and Lily Zheng.

Carmel Christian

Space station experiment: A team of 10 students will send a microlab experiment, which measures the effects of microgravity on a ferrofluid, to the International Station in April 2015.

The team is partnering with the Quest Institute for Quality Education and NanoRacks. The students will design, build, test and deliver their experiment for the ISS, where it will remain for 30 days. Team members are Ryan Alderman, Emma Beightol, Samuel Chapman, Chase Currier, Jackson Hendricks, Hanzhang (Nigel) Liu, Ashley Orshoski, Trace Pollack, Sydney Studioso and Kara Washington. Lorelei Beightol and Gen Bowden are teacher/mentors.

Holy Trinity Catholic Middle

Nationwide science streaming: The school hosted Discovery Education experts and streamed an interactive lesson live to classrooms throughout the U.S. on Nov. 19.

The goal of the lesson was to inspire scientific curiosity using interactive multimedia learning experiences.

Providence Day

Model UN: Forty-six students participated in the High School MUN Conference on Nov. 12-13 in Boone. Ronak Bhagia won Best Delegation. Vienna Lunking and Alex Heintze earned Excellent Delegation and Jonathan Greenfield and Jack Coover earned honorable mention.