South Charlotte

Collins to lead Union County school board

The Union County Board of Education unanimously elected John Collins and Leslie Boyd to respectively serve as board chairman and vice chairman at itsTuesday night meeting at Waxhaw Elementary School.

Collins, nominated by Michael Guzman, has served on the board for 10 years. Boyd, who won the board’s at-large seat in November’s election, was nominated by board member Christina Helms. They were the only members nominated for the two positions, and no discussion preceded the vote.

The election of officers followed a swearing-in ceremony and photo session for the five people who were elected to the board in November, including incumbent Marce Savage. Savage, whom the previous board censured last month because of irregularities on mileage-reimbursement forms, did not address the board during the meeting.

Union County Commission Chairman Richard Helms and Vice Chairman Stony Rushing spoke during the public comment session, saying they look forward to improving the relationship between the two boards and keeping the county’s schools “among the best in the state.”

After the meeting, Collins said he was “a little bit” surprised that he was nominated for the chairman’s position.

“It’s always a surprise to see your peers want you to lead them,” he said.