South Charlotte

Waxhaw artists awarded grants

Artists Peter Godshall and Arlynn Zachary have been awarded Regional Artist Project Grants through the region’s RAPG program.

Regional Artist Project Grants provide money for individuals or groups of unincorporated artists to pursue projects that further enhance their artistic development.

The RAPG is open to eligible artists in all disciplines and provides a grant of up to $2,000 to pay for one professional development or purchase or rent one piece of equipment.

Godshall, currently a resident of Waxhaw, is a digital artist specializing in digital painting, digital sculpting, illustration, photo illustration/Photoshop and photography. Through his work with Sean Busher Imagery, he recently completed commissions for the Arts & Science Council in Charlotte and Charlotte Center City Partners.

Busher, a photographer, describes his collaboration this way: “I work closely with Peter Godshall, our team’s retoucher and animation artist. He rocks.

“His technical abilities are the perfect complement to the visions in my head, and I think we make a great team.”

Godshall said he is going to use the grant to purchase a Wacom Cintiq Companion, what he described as “an iPad on steroids” that embraces 3-dimensional imaging and allows the user to draw.

Arlynn Zachary is a magna cum laude graduate of Goucher College, with a degree in choreography. She is director of dance for the Charlotte New Music Festival and board chairwoman for the Charlotte Dance Festival.

Zachary, also a Waxhaw resident, teaches modern and hip-hop dance in the Charlotte area and is the founder and artistic director of THE MARK Dance Company.

Zachary said she plans to invest in a new computer to help provide better office tools for editing business documents, higher-quality recording and editing tools for music and vocal recordings.

Union County Community Arts Council Director Barbara Faulk said the council recognizes that Union County has a strong arts community that can benefit from these grant funds.

“As an arts council, our goal is to assist artists by providing services and opportunities that help them evolve as artists,” Faulk said.

The arts councils of Union, Cabarrus, Cleveland, Gaston, Iredell, Mecklenburg, Rowan, Lincoln, Rutherford and York, S.C., counties offer the grant program.

Artists who have lived in these counties for one year are eligible to apply.