South Charlotte

School news

If you would like to have an announcement in School news, send your news release and photos to

Compiled by Cindy Stern

Providence High

HOSA competition: The following students qualified in the Jan. 10 HOSA (Health Occupations Students of America) District 6 Regional Conference for States and are advancing to the state event in March: Daniel Chang, Alyssa Gutierrez, Anne Haye, Daniel Kim, Joseph Kim, Esther Eunbin Lee, Kevin Lu and Annika Wurm. Approximately 30 additional students whose competition categories did not require regional qualification will also compete at the state event.

South Mecklenburg

Teacher awards: Alison Johnson, Nhora Saxon, Haley Houghton, Sherry Hilton and Sophie David-Gunn received a $3,000 Teacher Innovation Grant from the Charlotte Hornet’s Foundation. The grant involves ESL and Spanish immersion students collaborating to write, publish and share their stories in a public forum.

HOSA awards: The following students qualified at the recent District HOSA (Health Occupations Students of America) competition and will advance to state: Evelina Trost, Nishi Patel, Chan Ho Lee, Harish Amatya, Anthony Treadaway, Dhrubo Sikdar, Hannah Tuckman, Seol Ah Byun, Molly Whitesides, Ami Changela, Alina Joseph, Mikayla Lincoln and Maggie Lucas. Bethany Butler and Megan Obando also competed at regionals and placed 10th.

School event: The school will hold a Meet the Teacher night Jan. 29. The event will be on a drop-in basis: parents will be given a list of teachers and locations to visit as they wish. At the outset, there will be a PTSA meeting and the CIS staff and a presenter from CIEE, a company that provides scholarships for summer travel abroad, will speak, beginning at 5:30 p.m.

Myers Park

Band awards: The following students recently auditioned and were selected to the South Central District Honors Band: Phil Black, Miles Caraballo, Bennett Dean, Hayes Dunleavy, DQ Gooden, Lily Hunter, Ross Jarrell, Bryan Kirk, Therese Mendoza, Mary Shannon, Ben Thyer and Lindsey Ward.

All schools

Camps on campus: Registration is underway for UNC Charlotte’s Summer Camps on Campus. For information, visit

Keystone Montessori

Montessori Monday: The school will hold Montessori Monday Feb. 2 at 9 a.m.

Interested adults will learn about the Montessori method, tour the school and receive tuition assistance information. The school is in the Sedgefield United Methodist Church education building, 2830 Dorchester Place, 28209. 704-523-4338.

Charlotte Latin

Band awards: Jasmine Leahy and Veronica Leahy auditioned and were selected to participate in the South Central District Bandmasters Association All-District Band Clinic Jan. 30-31. The students are also now qualified to audition in March for the NC All-State Bands.

Providence Day

Teacher film segment: Ted Dickson, Upper School history teacher and department chair, and some of his U.S. History students were filmed for an instructional segment for The College Board Jan. 15.

The segment highlights Dickson’s teaching methods and features his students engaged in an analytical activity. The College Board will use this segment in its online professional development modules for AP U.S. History teachers.

Science award: Emily Ashkin has been named a semifinalist in the Intel Science Talent Search.

As one of 300 semifinalists, Emily, a senior, has won $1,000 in addition to $1,000 for Providence Day, for her research project “A Novel Synergistic Approach for Enhancing Immunotherapy in the Treatment of Melanoma.” Science teacher Amy Jordan assisted with Emily’s competition preparation. Intel STS competition alumni hold more than 100 of the world’s most prestigious science and math honors, including the Nobel Prize and the National Medal of Science.

Charlotte Christian

Robotics team: The RoboKnights placed 10th out of 27 teams in the preliminaries at the N.C. Western Regional VRC Qualifier Jan. 9.

The team then advanced to the semifinals where they were eliminated by one point. The tournament was the team’s second competition of the year. Team members were Thomas Barnes, Stephen Dillon, Sean Gallagher, Marcus Guarnieri, Steady Cash, Katherine Hanebutt and Kelsey Phalen. The team faculty advisor is Steve Hasselberg.