Union County

81 candidates seeking election to 49 spots

In some Union County towns, citizens won’t have many – or any – choices in their municipal elections.

In Wingate and Hemby Bridge, for example, all incumbents are running unopposed, as are the mayors of Monroe, Fairview and Marshville.

Voters in Weddington, Waxhaw, Wesley Chapel, Indian Trail and other towns, however, will have plenty of choices at the polls this fall.

In Weddington and Waxhaw, mayors are being challenged by members of their boards, and current majorities could be overturned.

Lake Park voters also will have the opportunity to vote on a referendum that could expand the sales of malt beverages and unfortified wine by certain businesses.

In all, 81 candidates filed to run for 49 seats that will be decided in Union County’s 14 municipalities.

Monroe’s municipal election will be Oct. 6; the other municipal elections will be Nov. 3.

Here is the breakdown, by municipality, of the candidates who filed to run:


Councilman Phillip C. Thomas is running unopposed for mayor. The three candidates for the two open council seats include John Biggers (incumbent), Terry Lane Helms and Gary Wilfong.

Hemby Bridge

Three Hemby Bridge aldermen will run unopposed for their current seats: Gary Anderson (incumbent), Chris Baker (incumbent) and Johnny Lemmond (incumbent).

Indian Trail

Indian Trail Mayor Michael Alvarez will face off against Roger Fish in the mayoral race.

There are 11 candidates, including three incumbents, running for three council seats: David Cohn (incumbent), Pam DeMaria, David Drehs (incumbent), Gary Evans, Michael Faulkenberry, Christopher M. King (incumbent), Tiffany McGee, Tripp Melton, Suzanne Schooler, Amy R. Stanton and Mark Wireman.

Lake Park

The race for mayor will be between current Mayor David Cleveland and Alicia Parente.

In addition to the mayoral race, voters will decide who will fill three council seats and one unexpired term. Pamela Jo Jack (incumbent) and Mark Phillips (incumbent) are running for the unexpired term currently held by Jack, appointed to the position in 2014 after then-Councilman David Cleveland assumed the role of mayor when Kendall Spence resigned.

Phillips, whose term on the council ends in 2015, chose to run for the unexpired term instead of another four-year term. Candidates for the other three open council seats are John Barnes (incumbent), Ashley Dance, Sean Lowther and Fabian Szarko (incumbent),


Marshville Mayor Frank Deese is running unopposed for mayor, and four candidates are running for three open council positions: Margaret C. Bivens (incumbent), Dora C. Bridget, Norma Carpenter (incumbent) and Ernestine Staton.


David Hoffman is running against current Mayor Joseph Pollino in Marvin’s mayoral race. The four candidates running for the village’s two available seats are Nick Dispenziere, Laura Minsk, Ron Salimao and Andrew Wortman.

Mineral Springs

Mineral Springs Mayor Rick Becker is facing challenger Charles Bowden. Three incumbents are running unopposed for the town’s three open council seats: Valerie Coffey (incumbent), Lundeen Cureton (incumbent) and Peggy Neil (incumbent).


Monroe’s municipal election will be Oct. 6, nearly a month before the other municipal races Nov. 3.

Monroe Mayor Bobby Kilgore is running unopposed. The five candidates for the city council’s three open seats are Gary L. Anderson, Steven Duncan, Billy A. Jordan (incumbent), Lynn A. Keziah (incumbent) and Dottie Nash (incumbent).


Two candidates are running for the two district seats opening up on the Stallings Town Council.

Shawna Steele (incumbent) is running for her current seat in District 4, and Kathy Ann Heyse is running for the District 5 seat held by Tony Linhares, who did not file for re-election.


Commissioners Randy Keith Baucom (incumbent), Edd M. Little (incumbent) and Jaren Simpson (incumbent) are running again for their three commission seats. Ken Trull Jr. and Andrew C. Benton are running to fill the unexpired term of Commissioner Kenneth M. Brown, Jr.


Waxhaw Mayor Daune Gardner has two opponents in the race for mayor: Waxhaw Commissioner Steve Maher and Dustin T. Williams.

Four candidates are running for two commission seats: Fred Burrell, Amina P. Lee, Mike Osborn and Brenda Stewart.


In Weddington’s mayoral race, current Mayor Bill Deter is running against Councilwoman Pamela Hadley.

The District 2 council seat – currently held by Hadley – has drawn three candidates: Scott Buzzard, Liz Callis and Mikki Weaver.

There also are three candidates for the District 4 seat: Barbara Harrison (incumbent), Janice Propst and Walker Davidson.

Wesley Chapel

Three candidates are running in Wesley Chapel’s mayoral race: Howard Brotton, David M. Kapfhammer and Elaine B. Rosoff. Paul Kaperonis and William Rodriguez are running for the village council’s two open seats.


Bill Braswell is running unopposed to keep his seat as Wingate’s mayor.

The three incumbent commissioners whose terms are expiring also are running unopposed: Barry Green, John Mangum and Peggy Taylor.

Jane Duckwall is a freelance writer: jbduckwall@gmail.com.