Crime & Courts

27 officers join ranks with CMPD

Charlotte-Mecklenburg police honored its 167th class of recruits Thursday morning with a ceremony at the Police Training Academy in southwest Charlotte.

Six of the new officers were assigned to the Hickory Grove Division in northeast Charlotte, and four each to the Central Division uptown and the Independence Division in southeast Charlotte.

Here are the new officers and their assignments:

Central: Naomi Decker, Jana Higa, Andew Isaacs, Lonnie McIntyre.

Freedom: Will Buie, Jordan Daigle.

Hickory Grove: Stephanie Alcantara, M. Cameron Bowers, Emily Helak, Micah Owen, Marcus Polite, Kenia Restrepo.

Independence: Jamaal Andrews, Sean Hess, Michael Hood, Derek Sanchez.

Metro: Joseph Bauer, Chelsea Kidder.

North: Andy Thompson.

North Tryon: Keelan Childers, Eric Wagner.

Providence: Victoria Fiallos, Jordan Ivey.

Steele Creek: Daniel Rosenberger.

University: Reginald Jenkins, Garret Tryon.

Westover: Jeremy Goode.