School’s closed, so kids are out on bicycles.
But don’t let them leave home without a helmet. It’s the law in North Carolina.
Children younger than 16 are required to wear a helmet when they ride a bike, according to N.C. Department of Transportation.
A helmet can reduce the risk of a severe brain injury by 88 percent, according to N.C. DOT. But less than 50 percent of children typically wear one when they ride.
Digital Access for only $0.99
For the most comprehensive local coverage, subscribe today.
The result: an average of 20 bicyclists are killed each year while riding in North Carolina – and one in six is under age 16.
Karen Sullivan: 704-358-5532, @Sullivan_kms