U.S. Presidential Scholar candidates named

Three Charlotte students attending the North Carolina School of Science & Mathematics are among 16 Charlotte-area students named candidates for the United States Presidential Scholars Program.

Mengyao Li, Parth Thakker and Julia Yu of Charlotte were chosen from the Durham school, along with Urvi Sinha of Pineville and Maxwell Tucker of Mint Hill. Others from Charlotte: Sumner Dudick, Charlotte Catholic; Emily Ho, Charlotte Latin; Kevin Lu, Providence Day; and Hunter Ubersox, Charlotte Country Day.

Also chosen were Andrea Bostrom of Waxhaw (school unavailable); Evan Ector of Mint Hill, Charlotte Christian; Melissa Fonseca of Gastonia, Hunter Huss; and Moira Shepard, Charlotte Catholic.

Only 70 students throughout North Carolina were chosen for this honor. Fort Mill students Benjamin Drake (Nation Ford), Madeline Wilkerson (Indian Land) and Vanessa Zarubin (Fort Mill) were among 60 S.C. students chosen.

About 140 Academic Scholars will be selected by the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars and will be honored in June at a White House ceremony.

Reid Creager