Charlotte-area students’ entries nominated for STEM awards

Twelve student submissions were selected as nominees in WTVI PBS Charlotte’s first regional STEM Awards. Winners will be announced May 21 for students in sixth through 12th grades from the station’s 13-county viewing area who show excellence in the field of science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

Mecklenburg County nominees: Genevieve Hernandez, Matthew Craft and Bill Goodridge of Phillip O. Berry, Architecture Design and Innovation; Jacob Foard, Thomas Nix and Rachel Simmons, Berry, Evaluating School Attendance Data Using SAS; Justice Isom, Kids N Technology, The Science of Color; Rishi Kulkarni, Kids N Technology,; Rishi Kulkarni and Rithik Kulkarni, Robot Solves Rubik’s Cube; Enzo Moretti Niebuhr, Morehead STEM Academy, Particles From the Ceiling.

Gaston’s: Bailey Bullock and Rachael Lee, Ashbrook High, Water Bottle Insulation. Lincoln’s: Paul Luster, Asbury School, Mouse Trap Race Car. Union’s: Peyton Thomas, East Union Middle, A Glimpse at the Human Heart. York’s: Andrew Burrell, Dominick Carducci, Megan Fischer, Devin Gangadeen, William Jaeger, Harrison Minnix, Brandon Monroe, Mitchell Neal, Taylor Pappalardo and Jason Rodean, Nation Ford High, Electric Vehicle Conversion; Will Rayano and Courtney Petitgout, Nation Ford, Balancing Feed Rations and Their Use; Elise Nelson and Francesca Ferrell, Nation Ford, Healthy Hydrating Facial Cream.

Reid Creager