CMS names 9 new principals, including at West Meck High

Editor's Note: This story has been updated to correct Christopher Bernard's assignment.

West Mecklenburg High and eight other Charlotte-Mecklenburg schools got new principals Tuesday, as Superintendent Heath Morrison continued his shakeup of school leadership and expansion of administration.

Casey Jones, founder of an alternative high school in New York City, was named to lead West Mecklenburg. He is the founding head of Innovation Diploma Plus High, which helps over-age students who have fallen behind earn diplomas.

Morrison announced the start of his summer shake-up earlier this month, when he split up two administrative zones, named two additional zone superintendents and promoted three high school principals, who were replaced soon afterward. He said Tuesday that he expects to name several more principals at a special meeting on July 10.

On Tuesday, Morrison filled the long-vacant chief academic officer’s post by promoting Brian Schultz, a former Torrence Creek Elementary principal who has been an executive director in two CMS zone offices recently. He will make $160,000 a year.

He also promoted Akeshia Craven-Howell to a new job as assistant superintendent of school options, innovation and design. She has been working as an executive director leading efforts to expand school choices since 2013. She will earn $126,900 in the new job.

Michele Mason, formerly with Charlotte’s New Leaders principal recruitment and training program, was named executive director of leadership for CMS, a job Morrison said will help the district develop its “principal pipeline.” Her salary is $111,000.

Salaries for the new appointments were not available Tuesday night.

Other principals named Tuesday are:

• Kathleen Richert, assistant principal of Weddington Middle School in Union County, to lead Crestdale Middle.

• Katherine Willenbrock, dean of students at Lincoln Heights Academy, to lead that school.

• Christie Lyles, assistant principal of Mountain Island Lake Academy, to lead the school as it expands to a K-8 school.

• Christopher Bernard, dean of instruction at Druid Hills Academy, as principal of University Meadows Elementary.

• Leora Itzhaki, assistant principal at Blythe Elementary, to lead that school.

• Brooklyn Bostwick, assistant principal at Pineville Elementary, to lead Lake Wylie Elementary.

• Cara Heath, assistant principal at Berryhill School, to lead that school.

• Jessie Becker, assistant principal at Thomasboro Academy, to lead Hickory Grove Elementary.