Politics & Government

Gaston County: Dana Bumgardner leads House 109 race

Incumbent Dana Bumgardner won the Republican primary race for the N.C. House District 109 seat Tuesday night, according to unofficial returns.

With 16 out of 16 precincts reporting, Bumgardner had 2,341 votes, followed by challenger Mickey Price with 1,204 votes.

Bumgardner, who runs LPM Printing & Manufacturing in Dallas, N.C., is seeking a second term in the N.C. House. In 2012, he ran for the seat held by Rep. Bill Current, R-Gaston, who did not run for a fifth term. N.C. House District 109 includes Belmont, Cramerton and parts of Gaston County.

An outspoken critic of the controversial Garden Parkway toll road, Bumgardner promised to continue working against the project after it fared poorly on recent N.C. Department of Transportation rankings, meaning it is unlikely to be built anytime soon.

“It’s not dead yet,” Bumgarder said of the parkway. “But I’m working on it.”

A pharmacist with CVS/Pharmacy, Price was on the Belmont City Council from 1989 to 1999 and has served on the Gaston Board of County Commissioners since 2000.

In the race for the Gastonia Township seat on the Gaston Board of County Commissioners, with 46 of 46 precincts reporting, incumbent Tom Keigher won with 3,739 votes.

Gastonia City Council member Jim Gallagher had 3,513 votes, followed by former Gastonia City Council member Dale Burkett with 1,000 votes.

Keigher, 61, was first elected to the county commissioners in 1998 and is completing his fourth term.

A partner with Conner Financial Group, Keigher said the main reason he ran again is that “this is the first time we have a group of commissioners willing to work together and respect each other’s judgment.”

In the Republican primary for Gaston County sheriff, retired Gastonia police Officer Jeff Bryson won with 4,177 votes followed by retired Gastonia police Officer Jeff Clark with 3,192 votes.

Jeff Baker’s name was on the ballot as a candidate for sheriff, but he had dropped out earlier. He had 554 votes.

The winner will face Democratic incumbent Sheriff Alan Cloninger in November.

Related stories from Charlotte Observer