Politics & Government

Election 2014: Law enforcement, courts


Mecklenburg County Sheriff

The winner will replace Chipp Bailey, who did not seek re-election.

• Irwin Carmichael

, D




Web site

• Chris Hailey

, R




Web site

Carmichael, Hailey seek Mecklenburg County sheriff’s seat

Sheriff's candidates disagree over opening satellite offices

NC Supreme Court Chief Justice

• Mark Martin

• Ola M. Lewis

NC Supreme Court Associate Justice

Three races


1) • Bob Hunter • Sam J. Ervin IV

2) • Eric Levinson • Robin Hudson

3) • Mike Robinson • Cheri Beasley

Partisan groups have keen interest in non-partisan NC Supreme Court races

NC Court of Appeals Judge

(Four races)

A whopping 19 candidates vying for one NC Court of Appeals seat


Note: This race features 19 candidates for one seat

• John S. Arrowood &nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp • Hunter Murphy

• Betsy Bunting &nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp • Marty Martin

• Jeffrey M. Cook &nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp • Jody Newsome

• Lori G. Christian &nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp • Tricia Shields

• J. Brad Donovan &nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp• Elizabeth Davenport Scott

• Daniel Patrick Donahue &nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp • John M. Tyson

• Sabra Jean Faires &nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp • Chuck Winfree

• Abe Jones &nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp • Marion Warren

• Ann Kirby &nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp• Valerie Johnson Zachary

• Keischa Lovelace

2) • Bill Southern &nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp• Lucy Inman

3) • Donna Stroud

4) • Paul Holcombe &nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp • Mark Davis

Mecklenburg Superior Court

There are two contested races for Mecklenburg's 26th district appearing on the ballot, though a candidate in one of the races dropped out recently.

District 26B seat 2:

&nbsp&nbsp • Carla Archie &nbsp&nbsp • John W. Bowers &nbsp&nbsp • David Kelly &nbsp&nbsp • Eric A. Montgomery

District 26C:

&nbsp&nbsp • Bob Bell &nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp • Justin William Moore

Judge candidate leaves race but not the ballot

Mecklenburg District Court

Nixon seat:

• Theo Nixon &nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp • Yolanda Trotman

Mecklenburg court race involves style and substance

Viser seat:

• Alicia Brooks &nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp • Casey Viser

District court candidates cite similar influences

Mecklenburg County Clerk of Superior Court

• Elisa Chinn Gary

, D: E-mail


Web site

• Martha Efird

, R




Web site