CMS teachers group endorses three in school board election

The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Association of Educators has endorsed Mary McCray, Ericka Ellis-Stewart and Elyse Dashew for the three at-large seats on the school board.

McCray chairs the Charlotte-Mecklenburg school board and is a former president of CMAE. She and Ellis-Stewart are seeking a second four-year term, while Dashew is making her second try for a seat on the board.

Nine candidates are seeking the three posts, which will be chosen in the Nov. 3 election. Early voting starts Oct. 22.

Learn more about the candidates at www.charlotteobserver.com/election

Ann Doss Helms: 704-358-5033, @anndosshelms