Nagurski Award winner to be named Monday

Five of the country’s best defensive college football players are up for the Bronko Nagurski Award, which will be presented Monday by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and National Football Writers Association at the Westin Hotel in uptown Charlotte.

Texas tackle Malcolm Brown, Alabama defensive back Landon Collins, Mississippi defensive back Senquez Golson, Louisville defensive back Gerod Holliman and Arizona linebacker Scooby Wright are finalists for the award, which goes to the nation’s top defender.

Louisville’s Holliman (14) and Ole Miss’ Golson (nine) are 1-2 nationally in interceptions. Arizona’s Wright leads the nation with 27 tackles for loss and is tied for third with 14 sacks.

Brown has 6.5 sacks and has recovered one fumble for the Longhorns. Alabama’s Collins has three interceptions and six pass breakups.

Alabama coach Nick Saban will be the keynote speaker at the banquet, which will be televised Dec. 12 at 8 p.m. on the CBS Sports Network. Former Maryland and Dallas Cowboy defensive lineman will receive the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award. Former Carolina Panthers quarterback Steve Beuerlein will be master of ceremonies.