High School Sports

Seven Mecklenburg County stars named to N.C. prep baseball all-state team

Hough pitcher J.D. Brock (4) committed to Clemson before his sophomore season.
Hough pitcher J.D. Brock (4) committed to Clemson before his sophomore season. Special to the Observer

Seven Mecklenburg County high school baseball players were named to the N.C. Baseball Coaches Association all-state team Monday.

Hough's J.D. Brock, Mallard Creek's Konni Durschlag and Providence's Timmy Townsend and Ethan Reese were joined by East Meck's Luke Little and two Ardrey Kell stars — Trey Tujetsch and Cam Brantley.

Other area 4A players named included Lake Norman's Justin Jarvis and Gage Smith, Mooresville's Cameron Clonch, South Caldwell's Trent Black and Own Foxx and Porter Ridge's Brennan Malone.

In 3A, Boiling Springs Crest's Riley Cheek and John Kyle Mitchell were named to the team, along with two East Rowan players, Wayne Mize and Hayden Setzer, Sun Valley's Sam Howell, Robinson's Jason White, Carson's Maddux Holshouser and North Gaston's Dalton Williams.

Carson High pitcher Owen White was named 3A state player of the year.

In 2A, R-S Central's Jace Crowe and Marty Barrella were named along with Bunker Hill's Carrington Chapman and Thaxton Isenhour. Also named to the 2A team were West Stanly's Zach Grice and Mount Pleasant's Hayden Radford.

In 1A, Bessemer City's Wesley Summey, Queens Grant's Andy Duran, North Stanly's Rhett Lowder, South Stanly's Logan Spivey and Hayden Brown and Cherryville's Jared Emory were named.

N.C. Baseball Coaches Association All State teams

NCBCA 1A 2018 All State Team

Kain Kiser, East Surry, 1A Player of the Year

Wesley Summey, Bessemer City

A.J. Wilson, East Surry

Bryce Vestal, East Wilkes

Carter Long, North Moore

Chandler Williams, Franklin Academy

Caleb Irwin, Murphy High School

Joey Curry, Murphy High School

Royce Peterson, Murphy High School

Lucas Barolet, Murphy High School

Andy Duran, Queen's Grant High School

Ben Ward, John A. Holmes

Devin Mathis, Perquimans

Mason Votava, Perquimans

Chance Howard, Rosewood High School

Jordan Leggett, Beargrass Charter

Hunter Forbes, Beargrass Charter

Andrew Summerlin, Riverside-Martin

Michael Allen, Manteo High School

Parker Boyd, Northside

Rhett Lowder, North Stanly

Logan Spivey, South Stanly

Hayden Brown, South Stanly

Chase Sykes, Voyager High School

Aaron Beasley, Voyager High School

Carson Lowder, North Stanly

Holden Owens, Polk County High School

Joe Delossantos, Granville Central High School

Jake Craddock, North Stokes High School

Layton Helms, North Stokes High School

Jared Emory, Cherryville High School

NCBCA 2A 2018 All State Team

Logan Whitaker, Ledford, 2A Player of the Year

Seth Thorndyke, Fairmont High

Hunter Hopkins, West Davidson

Ben Purvis, West Davidson

Carter Foster, Forbush High School

Westley Wood, Forbush High School

Corbin Lanowitz, Walkertown

Alex Ortiz, West Wilkes

Riley Ledford, West Wilkes

Jace Crowe, RS Central

Marty Barrella, RS Central

Stancil Bowles, East Duplin

Carrington Chapman, Bunker Hill High School

Thaxton Isenhour, Bunker Hill High School

Cole Bates, Currituck High School

Camden Noble, South Lenoir High School

Caleb Morris, West Craven High School

Colby Mclawhorn, North Lenoir High School

Chandler Williford, Midway High School

Davie Morgan, Bunn High School

Brooks Baldwin, Whiteville High School

Jake Harwood, Whiteville High School

Tye Chastain, Franklin High School

Zach Grice, West Stanly High School

Trey Cooper, Randleman High School

Ramsey Petty, Randleman High School

Matt Kemp, Randleman High School

Will Westbrock, Charles D. Owen High School

Chris Villaman, Ledford High School

Brodey Sams, First Flight High School

Hayden Radford, Mount Pleasant High School

Quentin Pittman, North Lenoir High School

NCBCA 3A 2018 All State Team

Owen White

Carson High School

3A Player of the Year

Phillip Cole

Western Alamance

Colby Stuart

Western Alamance

Riley Cheek


Wayne Mize

East Rowan

Hayden Setzer

East Rowan

Phillip Cole

Western Alamane HS

Ryder Giles

Union Pines

Hunter Christopher

JH Rose

Josh Dotson

AC Reynolds

Trey Deutsch


Grant Millay

South Johnston

Chad Bean

Wilson Fike

Jaylen Guy

Southeast Guilford

Sam Howell

Sun Valley

Jason White

J M Robinson High School

Michael "Junior" Renwick


Blake Walston

New Hanover

Davis Palermo

Northwood High School

Coby Ingle

Rockingham County High School

Bryce Marsh


Maddux Holshouser

Carson High School

Jax Hackett

Southeast Guilford

KJ Wells

Western Alamance

John Kyle Mitchell


Justice Lynn

Wilson Fike

Kyle Decker

North Henderson

Nathan Landreth

Western Alamance

Robbie O'Neal

DH Conley

Dalton Williams

North Gaston High School

Alex Flinn

AC Reynolds

Jacob Edwards Southwest Guilford

NCBCA 4A 2018 All State Team

4A All-State

Ben Miller


Player of the Year

Jordyn Adams

Green Hope High School

Justin Jarvis

Lake Norman

Gage Smith

Lake Norman

Nolan McLean

Garner Magnet High School

J.D. Brock


Konni Durschlag

Mallard Creek High School

Timmy Townsend


Ethan Reese


Ryan Chasse

Middle Creek

Jake Knapp

Page High School

Cameron Clonch


Matt Willadsen

Holly Springs

Nick Fajardo


Drew Nichols

South Central

Garrett Saylor


Scott Mayo

South Central

Bryceson Hernandez

Panther Creek High School

Nik Pry


Scout Cox

West Forsyth

Trent Black

South Caldwell

Luke Little

East Mecklenburg

Price King

Ashley High School

Trey Tujetsch

Ardrey Kell

Brennan Malone

Porter Ridge

Own Foxx

South Caldwell

Luke Kimrey

East Forsyth

Jon Spillman


Hayden Summers

Northwest Guilford

Cameron Brantley

Ardrey Kell