High School Sports

Memorial for West Charlotte coach Mo Collins at halftime

West Charlotte High will hold a memorial at halftime of Friday night’s football game to honor coach Mo Collins, who died Sunday.

Denada Jackson, community engagement coordinator for the Project LIFT district that includes West Charlotte, said several special guests will offer remarks about Collins, who was 38.

Collins, who graduated from West Charlotte in 1994, is a former Florida Gator and Oakland Raiders offensive lineman. This season, his first as head coach, he led the Lions (4-5) to their most wins since 2010. Collins, who did not coach in last week’s 35-7 loss to Hough, had been receiving dialysis treatments for kidney failure.

He was the second area football coach to die during recent weeks. Piedmont’s Ron Massey died two weeks ago of a heart attack.

West Charlotte will play MECKA 4A opponent A.L. Brown on Friday. Kickoff will be at 7 p.m.

• Charlotte Christian senior center Brian Chaffin will receive his Under Armour All-America game jersey in a special ceremony at the school’s gym at 1:15 p.m. Thursday. Chaffin, who has committed to Stanford, will play in the game Jan. 2 in St. Petersburg, Fla.


Garinger High’s Tresor Mbuyu is one of two N.C. players selected to play in the Top Drawer Soccer boys’ All-American game, which will be Dec. 13 in Raleigh. Mbuyu will be joined on the East team by Cary Academy’s Collin Dworsky. Mbuyu has led Garinger to a 16-3-2 record. He has 50 goals and 15 assists for the Wildcats, who will begin the N.C. 4A playoffs Wednesday. The Wildcats will play Northwest Guilford at home. The game will start at 6 p.m.


Charlotte Country Day finished 44-1 this season and is 78-7 the past two seasons. The Bucs won 112 of the 117 sets they played and are ranked No. 12 in MaxPreps’ national poll. Country Day won its second straight N.C. Independent Schools’ championship.


The N.C. High School Athletic Association will name a weekly boys’ and girls’ athlete of the week. Media members will nominate athletes and a selection committee will pick the winners.