Prep Insider Blog

UNC recruit named Southern Piedmont conference player of the year

Mountain Island Charter RB Elijah Burris
Mountain Island Charter RB Elijah Burris Michael Strauss for Strauss Studios

Mountain Island Charter running back Elijah Burris ran for 2,832 yards this season, second-most in North Carolina. He is the Southern Piedmont 1A all-conference offensive player of the year.

Burris has committed to North Carolina.

The all-conference team was voted on by the league’s coaches.

Southern Piedmont 1A All-Conference football

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Elijah Burris, Mountain Island Charter

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Kiantai Degree, Bessemer City

SPECIALIST OF THE YEAR: Nomi McMullens, Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy

COACH OF THE YEAR: Tim Pruitt, Cherryville

THOMAS JEFFERSON CLASSICAL ACADEMY (9): Tysun Beaver, Isaiah Foster, Ethan Jackson, Cody Maxwell, Nomi McMullens, Isaac Roberson, Colby Silva, Chance Sutton and Dakota Twitty.

BESSEMER CITY (8): Frank Bowers, Kiantai Degree, Jaqualyn Hardin, Samuel Jones, Jarkevious Love, Ronald Summey, Keyonta Thomasson, and Damyon Wilder.

MOUNTAIN ISLAND CHARTER (9): Elijah Burris, Marcus Graham, Jamir Johnson, Levontae Kennedy, Jackson Marley, Landon Reel, Jordan Steele, Gabe Stephens, and Jalen Wylie.

COMMUNITY SCHOOL OF DAVIDSON (6): Caden Bonofski, Brandon Ellington, Austin Fekete, Ryan Renshaw, Langston Samples and Baker Westmoreland.

CHERRYVILLE (7): Jayden Blanton, Jace Brittain, John Crain, Cruyff Fleurine, Sean Kostiuk, Chapel Moss and J’son Pitts.

HIGHLAND SCHOOL OF TECHNOLOGY (4): Drew Burton, Kobe Christian, DaJuan Jamerson and Jeremiah Wallace.

UNION ACADEMY (4): Hayden Gosnell, Phifer Griffen, Carson Malone and Derek Young.

PINE LAKE PREPARATORY (4): Zach Morlidge, Austin Schmidt, Blake Shope and Nate Sliney.