Some area school districts will delay classes Monday because of icy roads

Multiple school districts in the local area are delaying classes Monday due to the possibility of icy road conditions.

For Monday Jan. 14, two-hour delays were announced for Watauga County Schools, Avery County Schools, Iredell-Statesville Schools, Catawba County Schools, Hickory Public Schools, Newton-Conover City Schools and Alexander County Schools.

Many of the school districts cited the below-freezing temperatures and the potential for icy roads for the delays.

The school districts will operate on a two-hour delay for students and staff.

For a full list of closings for Monday, click here.