11 Mecklenburg seniors awarded National Achievement Scholarships

Eleven high school seniors in Mecklenburg County have been awarded National Achievement Scholarships, according to the program’s Tuesday announcement.

Another 11 from around the Charlotte region also received the recognition, which honors black students with high academic achievement. About 800 are given out each year nationally.

The majority of the awards are worth $2,500. Some achievement awards are backed by corporate foundations, and can be renewed for multiple years. Scholarships offered by the Reynolds American Foundation are $2,500 for each of up to four years of school.

Semifinalists are based on scores on the PSAT. Finalists and winners then have to be recommended by their school, write an essay and earn a high score on the SAT.

Winners from Mecklenburg County high schools:

▪ Deirdre Jonese Austin, Independence High. Reynolds American Foundation Scholarship.

▪ Akiera Davis, Harding University High.

▪ Jared E. Hunt, Ardrey Kell High.

▪ Paakweisi Krentsil, Rocky River High.

▪ Jared T. Leach, Northside Christian Academy.

▪ Mia C. Mathews, Providence High.

▪ Reagan E. Walker, Hough High.

▪ Danyale Janae Calhoun, North Mecklenburg High.

▪ Nia Y. Moore, Northwest School of the Arts. Reynolds American Foundation Scholarship.

▪ Erica A. Jordan, East Mecklenburg High. Reynolds American Foundation Scholarship.

▪ John A. Powell, Charlotte Latin School.

Other Charlotte-region winners:

▪ Charles G. Pearson, Gaston Christian School, Gastonia.

▪ Oluwadara A. Tokunboh, Cannon School, Concord.

▪ Michael A. Walker Jr., Cox Mill School, Concord. Reynolds American Foundation Scholarship.

▪ Simone M. Griffith, North Carolina School of Science and Math in Durham. She is from Matthews.

▪ Michael G. Williams, Central Cabarrus High, Concord. Reynolds American Foundation Scholarship.

▪ Nyatefe M. Mortoo, South Iredell High, Statesville.

▪ Walter Lysandas Bonar, Marvin Ridge High, Waxhaw.

▪ Onastasia B. Ebright, Fort Mill High, Fort Mill, S.C.

▪ Hannah E. Harvey, Nation Ford High, Fort Mill, S.C.

▪ Gabriella A. Lott, South Carolina Governor’s School for the Arts and Humanities, Greenville, S.C. She is from Lake Wylie, S.C.

▪ Meghan J. Pearson, South Pointe High, Rock Hill.

Dunn: 704-358-5235;

Twitter: @andrew_dunn