Politics & Government

Tuesday candidate filings

Names in bold filed Tuesday; others filed earlier. Filing closes Friday, with primaries for the city of Charlotte on Sept. 15 and the general election Nov. 3. School board and other municipal races are nonpartisan.

Track the list of candidates live at http://apps.meckboe.org/CandidatePrint.aspx.

Charlotte-Mecklenburg school board

(Three seats, at-large)

Janeen Bryant, Larry Bumgarner, Elyse Dashew, Ericka Ellis-Stewart, Levester Flowers, Jeremy Stephenson, Amelia Stinson-Wesley

Charlotte mayor

Democrats: Michael D. Barnes, Daniel (Dan) Clodfelter, David L. Howard, Jennifer Roberts

Republicans: Edwin B. Peacock III, Scott Stone

Charlotte City Council at-large

Democrats: Darrell Bonapart, Julie Eiselt, Claire Green Fallon, Sean Gautam, Shawn Greeson, Billy D. Maddalon, James (Smuggie) Mitchell

Republicans: John K. Powell Jr., David Michael Rice

Charlotte City Council District 1

Democrats: Patsy Kinsey

Charlotte City Council District 2

Democrats: Al Austin, Steven Jones

Republicans: Justin Dunn

Charlotte City Council District 3

Democrats: LaWana Mayfield, Warren F. Turner

Charlotte City Council District 4

Democrats: Greg Phipps

Republicans: Michael P. O’Hara

Charlotte City Council District 5

Democrats: Scott Derek Jenkins

Charlotte City Council District 6

Republicans: Kenny Smith

Charlotte City Council District 7

Republicans: Ed Driggs

Cornelius mayor

Chuck Travis

Cornelius Town Board

Denis P. Bilodeau, Jim Duke, Michael F. Miltich, J.R. Mount, Woody Washam Jr.

Davidson mayor

John M. Woods

Davidson Town Board

Stacey M. Anderson, Jim Fuller, Brian Jenest

Huntersville mayor

John Aneralla, Jill Swain

Huntersville Town Board

Melinda Bales, Dan Boone, Phil Carey, Sharon Eskridge, Mark Gibbons, Rob Kidwell, Sarah R. McAulay, Jeff Neely, Danny Phillips, Leonard Richardson III, Nick Walsh

Matthews mayor

James P. (Jim) Taylor

Matthews Town Board

John F. Higdon, Christopher L. Melton, Jeff A. Miller, Joe Pata, Nobie Thrasher, John Urban, Larry Whitley

Mint Hill Town Board

James Stapleton

Pineville mayor

John (Jack) Edwards

Pineville Town Board

L.R. (Les) Gladden