Touchdown Club to honor local football players

The Charlotte Touchdown Club will honor several area college and high school football players during Monday’s Bronko Nagurski Trophy presentation at the Westin Hotel in uptown Charlotte.

Kannapolis’ A.L. Brown’s Sabino Martinez will receive the Michael A. Kahn Scholarship Award for community service. Martinez, a linebacker and offensive lineman for the Wonders, will receive a $40,000 scholarship funded by the Michael A. Kahn family. Martinez, who is also on Brown’s wrestling team, is a mentor at Kannapolis Middle School and a leader in Brown’s ROTC program.

Local college scholarships

Lewis McCormick, Catawba; William Morris, Davidson; O.J. Mau, Gardner-Webb; Carlo Thomas, Johnson C. Smith; Larry Ogunjobi, Charlotte; Daniel Owens, Wingate.

High schools

Keith Duncan, Weddington, student-athlete of the year; Jaret Anderson, Charlotte Catholic, comeback player of the year; Cameron Rodgers, Kannapolis Brown, Luke Kuechly defensive player of the year; Larry McNulty, Charlotte Latin, coach of the year; Sabino Martinez, A.L. Brown, Michael A. Kahn Scholarship Award.

Pop Warner

Lake Norman Giants, Pee Wee team of the year.

David Scott